Popular Tags: [View All]
Miguel
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a Steam newbie, and I haven't ever played Age of Steam either. I thought I'd jump in here and list a few ambiguities I found in this map, and how I resolved them. Mostly, they come up because the rules (in Steam, anyway) there is not normally the possibility of having towns with cubes on them.

1) The rules state that deliveries must be city to city. Since Urbanize isn't an option on this map, it is necessary to assume that this rule does not apply to the map. Odd that it's not mentioned, and that no one else has pointed this out in the forums...
2) Given that deliveries can be made from towns in this scenario, is it necessary that track touch the hex (like a city) or be in the hex (with a town track tile)? I ruled that it was necessary to build track on the town hex before making a delivery.
3)If I'm wrong and only touching the hex is required, then would it follow that it's not necessary to build in the hex at all to pass through the delivery of a cube over multiple links? (in other words, to run a delivery through a city track only needs to be on either side of the city hex. Is it the same for towns in this scenario?) Since I ruled that it was necessary to build on the hex for question 2, it's obvious this didn't come up. However, this solution would be more internally consistent with the way cities behave, which is where cubes normally are.

Thoughts?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Which rules state city to city?

As to the rest, it is unreasonable to think that goods being in towns would fundamentally change the track building rules. Granted, those rules are muchclearer in the aos rules, but Steam's are workable. You must connect a town (building into hex, choose town tile, pay for exits) just as in any map where this in not explicitly changed.

B>
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls