Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Liberty: The American Revolution 1775-83» Forums » Rules

Subject: battles and mutiple blocks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Forrester
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
If 2 blocks confront one block, or 4 on 2, whatever, does the first block attack the defending block, and if no conclusion retreats, does the second block continue the battle against the defending block, or all must retreat? the rules are not specific on this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't undertsand your question. Did you look at the example of play in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Forrester
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Thanks for the quick reply and sorry, I will explain further. The rules state that each block attacks and defends based on the highest letter to a maximum of 3 rounds, etc. If the defender isn't vanquished after 3 rounds, the attacker retreats. It doesn't state how the battle goes if two blocks enter a hex with one defending block, or four blocks enter a hex with two blocks defending or whatever, and the battle example you state shows as an example two blocks against an equal force of two blocks.

So if two blocks battle one block, what's the order if the defender isn't vanquished by the first attacking block? Does the attacker retreat, then the second block resumes attacking the single defending block for another 3 round, or must it also retreat with the first block?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless Columbia block games changed their basic system, the combat round goes;

ALL A blocks go (all A defenders, then all A attackers)
ALL B blocks go...

etc.

It does not matter how many blocks are involved, all A go first (defender A first), then all B. Losses are taken from the currently highest block, cumulatively.

That is, if you have 2x 4-step blocks, and have to take 3 losses, the first loss can come from either block - owner's choice. The second loss must come from the other block, that's still a 4-step block. The third can, again, come from either (now 3-step) block.

I don't own this specific game, but that's the Columbia block combat system.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holger Joist
Germany
Burghausen
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- First combat round: each attacker A block does ONE attack (or retreats), then each defender A block does ONE attack (or retreat), then each attacker B block attacks/retreats, then each B defender, then each C attacker, then each C defender.

- Second combat round: same as first combat round

- Third combat round: same as second combat round

- Attacker retreats if combat is still not decided.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SpieleHolger wrote:
- First combat round: each attacker A block does ONE attack (or retreats), then each defender A block does ONE attack (or retreat),
No, defenders go first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jforres124 wrote:
Thanks for the quick reply and sorry, I will explain further. The rules state that each block attacks and defends based on the highest letter to a maximum of 3 rounds, etc. If the defender isn't vanquished after 3 rounds, the attacker retreats. It doesn't state how the battle goes if two blocks enter a hex with one defending block, or four blocks enter a hex with two blocks defending or whatever, and the battle example you state shows as an example two blocks against an equal force of two blocks.

So if two blocks battle one block, what's the order if the defender isn't vanquished by the first attacking block? Does the attacker retreat, then the second block resumes attacking the single defending block for another 3 round, or must it also retreat with the first block?


In block games the battle procedure doesn't change depending on the number of blocks. All blocks that are eligible to fire at a given point do so, generally the defender first. Many games additionally divide the blocks into different categories scuh as A-B-C with all As firing before all Bs and all Bs before Cs. Generally, if there is an option to retreat from a battle situation, then the unit retreats INSTEAD if firing when it would normally fire. A two-block on two block battle is resolved exactly the same as a 2-block on 1-block fight.

Battles generally go several rounds (commonly three) and at the end of the combat if the attacker has not won the battle the attacker must retreat. The defender may get some bonus shots at the retreating units in this caase. In some games there are special kinds of battles that only last a single round and there are other minor variations in the timing and number of rounds, retreat rules and the like. Some games allow a specific piece to be targeted, but in most games the strongest piece on the side taking a hit has to suffer the loss, with the owning player choosing when there are ties.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Forrester
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Ok, so if there are two British, and A and C, and one American B. The A attacks/retreats B one round, then B attacks/retreats A back. The C then attacks/retreats A in the second round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jforres124 wrote:
Ok, so if there are two British, and A and C, and one American B. The A attacks/retreats B one round, then B attacks/retreats A back. The C then attacks/retreats A in the second round?

In the first round:
A attacks; the hits are applied to B, because that's the only enemy block.
B attacks (if still alive); each hit applied to A or C, whichever one is larger (rule 7.32).
C attacks (if still alive); the hits are applied to B, because that's the only enemy block.

Repeat for two more rounds, or until one side retreats or dies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jforres124 wrote:
Ok, so if there are two British, and A and C, and one American B. The A attacks/retreats B one round, then B attacks/retreats A back. The C then attacks/retreats A in the second round?


Not quite.

The British A block fires (or retreats). If it inflicts a hit on the Americans the B block takes the hit (because it's alone).
Now the B block can fire (at reduced strength if it took a hit) or retreat. If it inflicts a hit then the stronger British block (A or C) takes the hit. If they have the same strength then the British player chooses.
Finally the C block fires or retreats (at reduced strength of it took a hit from B's fire). That ends the round. Repeat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Forrester
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Thanks guys you're great. The rules just aren't totally clear. This is a great forum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.