Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: More military units than tax income? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glenn Russell
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a nation has more military units than it can support with taxes, what happens?

Here's an example France hits taxation with 2 factories, 3 tax territories, 5 fleets, and 4 armies. So his total income is 7, but he has to pay out 9 for military units Which of the following are correct?

A) The country neither gains nor loses money, as they can never go below zero income collected during taxation phase (this is the one I think is right)

B) The country pays 2 dollars to the bank. if it doesn't have two dollars, the player controlling that country has to pay for it.

C) The country can voluntary sacrifice two units to avoid having to pay.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurence Koehn
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(A) is correct. In the rules, page 10, last sentence of the "Collecting Money" section, it states, "If the amount is negative, no payment is made." This means no payment, either to the bank or to the nation.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
koehn wrote:
(A) is correct. In the rules, page 10, last sentence of the "Collecting Money" section, it states, "If the amount is negative, no payment is made." This means no payment, either to the bank or to the nation.


In this case it seems like it would be a waste of a turn to land on taxation. Correct?

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Tori
msg tools
No - the military upkeep affects how much cash the nation receives, not the points it collects. You can still earn dividends if you have increased the tax base, and the nation will move closer to 25 points
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dragar wrote:
No - the military upkeep affects how much cash the nation receives, not the points it collects. You can still earn dividends if you have increased the tax base, and the nation will move closer to 25 points


Right, I realized that about 10 minutes after I posted this. Thanks for the confirmation.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.