Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Location Cards - Performing Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Fuller
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We drew a Location Card, for a PC in the Woods, and it says,

"Make a sneak check to try and swipe the shotgun".

Does this mean they HAVE to?

Underneath, for the Magick Shoppe, it seems to give you an option of buying a chest or not. "If you buy it..."

When we played we had to try and get the shotgun, but the wording caused some people to fret and hum and generally try to slither out of getting the shotgun (as the character auto-failed). I said it was just the way it was worded... I love how the game is narrated through the cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Yes. This has been a rather lengthy discussion on the merits of "to try" but it follows the sentance structure of all other cards that force you to pass the Skill check.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.