Dead of Winter (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stacking and movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Burden
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
I'm new to this system, so forgive me if this is answered elsewhere and I haven't been diligent enough in seeking clarification, but I'm confused about stacking and movement. 8.21 clearly states units move individually, but shortly below that play note #2 begins with "Units moving as a stack." These seem contradictory. Am I missing a specific exception somewhere to 8.21? Or is it that play note #2 should actually read "Units moving into a stack?"

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Taylor
United States
Aurora
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That whole play note doesn't make any sense, considering that changing the stacking within a hex is addressed later on.

My understanding is that all units must move individually. But as I read this, you may be correct that it should read "into" a stack, as that would make sense with 8.24, which states that stacked units may change their order instead of movement.

Not sure if I helped or not. I hadn't noticed this on my reading of the rules.

Welcome to BGG.

Mike

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bluerock
United States
Mufreesboro
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm thinking moving one stack of units, individually into the next hex, to create another stack...moved as a stack. The original stack can be remade in that hex, but if you choose to rearrange it, have the two unspent movement points and take UDD.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Taylor
United States
Aurora
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would guess that this game has special meaning to you, Scott.

Mike

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Berg
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb