Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Castle Panic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about boulders. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jeff morales
United States
Near Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Lets Eat!
badge
I also live
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. In the situation where you have to place a monster (say an orc) on a forest ring that has a boulder (i.e. the boulder was there first), does the monster die?

2. Are boulders affected by monster tokens that move monsters clockwise/counter clockwise?

3. Are they affected by tokens that cause monsters to move in a color?

4. Can they be targeted by tar?

5. Can they be targeted by cards that push them back into the forest?

6. Can they be attacked?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the answer to all is 'no'. You resolve a boulder immediately it's drawn - work out where it arrives and then it rolls through the board creating mayhem until it hits a wall or tower (or bounces through and goes back into the forest, see p10 of the rules ...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Arnold
Germany
Griesheim
Hessen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think nigel is right,

The boulder token is never "really" on the board. You draw it, you roll for its segment, you destroy all monsters in its path and propably one wall segment, fortification or tower, and the boulder token goes to the discard pile.

After that, you resolve the next token or the next player begins his turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff morales
United States
Near Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Lets Eat!
badge
I also live
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So... are you saying that when the boulder is played, it immediately rolls through the battlefield? I thought that it moved just like every other monster...at the end of each player's turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Arnold
Germany
Griesheim
Hessen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ikiru wrote:
So... are you saying that when the boulder is played, it immediately rolls through the battlefield?


Correct! Let me quote a sentence from the rulebook (page 10):

"Giant Boulders immediately roll all the way across the board, destroying everything in their path until they hit and destroy a Wall, Tower or Fortify Token"
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff morales
United States
Near Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Lets Eat!
badge
I also live
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ThunderFall wrote:
ikiru wrote:
So... are you saying that when the boulder is played, it immediately rolls through the battlefield?


Correct! Let me quote a sentence from the rulebook (page 10):

"Giant Boulders immediately roll all the way across the board, destroying everything in their path until they hit and destroy a Wall, Tower or Fortify Token"


Thanks for the help! I guess I was doing it wrong
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser Grant
Scotland
Windsor
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Those boulders are EVIL! They are worse than any Goblin King
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schenck
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
GO BUCKS!
badge
Stop touching me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frasergrant wrote:
Those boulders are EVIL! They are worse than any Goblin King

In general they're bad, yes. But I've had them help us out a bunch of times too. Losing a wall in exchange for wiping out a couple of full-health trolls is a good thing. Also, there's the occasional times near the end of the game when the boulder rolls clear across the board, only taking out monsters because there were no walls or towers in the two sections it passed through.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mckane
Australia
SYDNEY
N.S.W
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
Quote:
Thanks for the help! I guess I was doing it wrong


Just played my first solo game, just so i can teach it to my mates easier. I played this wrong as well. whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.