Jeff Khoury
United States
White Oak
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, when Space Hulk cracked the top 10, I was expecting it to march to the top in a few days, maybe two-three weeks, but it seems to have slowed its ascent considerably, so I took a few minutes to break down the numbers.

Most people are aware that there is a system of dummy votes on BGG (I would love to get into an argument about how much I hate this system and how it favors games that are more popular and receive more votes, which nullifies the "dummy damage", but I won't say any more than this.) I don't know the exact formula. I don't even know if it's a matter of public record, but this is what I came up with.

I warn you, I studied English in college, so some of you math majors may have to correct me, but I believe the dummy ratings system is something like this:

300 votes @ 5.4 each

This may not be exactly correct, but the averages work out so that if you multiply a game's average by it's total number of votes, add 1620 (300*5.4), then divide the resulting figure by the (total number of votes + 300), you will get the geek ranking.

(A*V+1620)/(V+300)

There is one small problem with the above formula: shill busting. It has been mentioned that some sort of shill busting algorithm is in place. So, the above formula doesn't work on all games, depending on how the formula adjusts for shilling (even still, it is usually very close). Of the top 12, it works out exactly for Agricola, Power Grid, Dominion, Space Hulk, and Tigris & Euphrates, is within .01 to .03 for Puerto Rico, Caylus, El Grande, and Race for the Galaxy, and is markedly lower (-.04 to -.07) for Twilight Struggle, Through the Ages, and Le Havre (suggesting these might be influenced by a more generous formula). [I also believe that vote totals are updated more frequently than averages are calculated, so that could have a minimal effect as well.]