Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mordheim: City of the Damned» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shooting while touching a knocked down opponent? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Galaxy is Just Packed!
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just need a clarifying confirmation here. Last round my model stunned an opponent in Close Combat. This round he is still in base-to-base contact with the opponent, which is currently knocked down.

Can my model shoot at another figure without having to move away from the knocked-down opponent?

I should think that it can, and the rules seem to imply that it can (since I can freely move away from the knocked-down guy), but I can't find the clarifying statement in the rules that says this is OK.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Vantries
United States
Woodbury
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I believe you are correct. I don't have my rulebook on me atm, but I'm pretty sure that's right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Galaxy is Just Packed!
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Crespi
Italy
Bologna
Italy
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bryanwinter wrote:
I should think that it can, and the rules seem to imply that it can (since I can freely move away from the knocked-down guy),


You cannot.

from page 21 of the rulebook (Moving from combat):
Once models are engaged in hand-to-hand combat
they cannot move away during their movement
phase. They must fight until they are either taken out
of action, until they take out their enemies, or until
one or the other breaks and runs.


You are considered engaged even with a stunned model, so:

from page 18 (Who can fight):
Models fighting in hand-to-hand combat do not shoot
in the shooting phase. They are far too busy fighting
for their lives. Any very close range shots they are able
to make using pistols are treated like close combat
weapon attacks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Crespi
Italy
Bologna
Italy
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've found other statements that helps:


From page 21 (breaking from combat):
Note that warriors cannot choose to leave a fight voluntarily.

You can chose to leave the fight only when YOU are the knocked down, and only if the opponent is engaged with other models.

from page 17 (knocked down):
Knocked down models may crawl 2" during the movement
phase, but may not fight in hand-to-hand
combat, shoot or cast spells. If he is in baseto-
base contact with an enemy, a knocked
down model can crawl 2" away only if the
enemy is engaged in hand-to-hand combat
with another opponent, otherwise he has to
stay where he is.



from page 117 (escaping from combat - optional rules):
Warriors that are engaged in hand-to-hand combat at
the start of their own turn may try to escape from
combat during their movement phase.

...
Take a Leadership test for each warrior trying to
escape from combat. This represents his efforts to
find the right time to escape. If he passes, the warrior
can move up to double his normal Movement rate
away from combat and the enemy he was fighting, in
any direction.
If he fails, his opponent is allowed to make 1
automatic hit against the warrior who is trying to
escape, and the fleeing warrior (provided he survives)
will run 2D6" directly away from combat. He will have
to take a Leadership test at the beginning of his next
turn.
If successful he will stop, but may not do anything
else during that turn. If the test is failed, he will
continue to run 2D6" towards the closest table edge
and must test again the following turn if he is still on
the table.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.