Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Diplomacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Murray Lewis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Good at learning, useless at playing
badge
No secret message here
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys, newbie to Diplomacy here with a quick question about retreating that I can't find an answer to in the rulebook.

It says that players give their orders simultaneously to all retreating units. What it doesn't say is what happens if two units try to retreat to the same place?

If there is somewhere else either of them could move to instead, do they go there? How would one decide which of the retreating armies changes where they retreat to if this is the case?
What if there is no-where else to go? Are they both disbanded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MurrayL wrote:
Are they both disbanded?

Yes
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony White
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello there,

Never played, read ALOT, still-->quick question: rules say all orders are resolved at the same time. But how do you retreat at the same time?

I can imagine that its quite important to know where your opponent retreats to. Who goes first declaring whereto he retreats? Or how is this done?


ps. although ive never played this game, since i heard about it....wow, kinda rocked my socks! Takes me back to my young days where we played RISK without dice...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mc Tono wrote:
But how do you retreat at the same time?

If there are multiple retreats, players write their retreats.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony White
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanx for the quick reaction.
the b-question then is: what if (in the unlikely event) 2 players want to retreat into the same region?

Greetings
soon 2b europes leadersauron Mc Toño
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The units are disbanded. In the next winter builds, they may be rebuilt if the owner has the supply centers. You may also choose to disband rather than retreat.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.