United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
SPACE MERCHANTS
Review and overview by Omega

Found plying the space lanes is yet another of Alex Kremers "One Page Wars" print-n-play games made in 2005. As its name suggests, the game prints out to a single page and is a space combat/merchant style game for 1-3 players who assume the roles of Merchant, Pirate, Bounty Hunter or even Police.
***NOTE: Notes and commentary are indicated thusly.***

The game does indeed print out to a single page. This contains the rules, the playing field composed of around 20 sectors of varying types. 7 Bounty Hunter counters, 16 Pirate, 19 Merchant and 7 Police. Rules are as follows.

The goal is to amass 50bil credits in 20 turns. Either by Trade, Piracy, or Bounty Hunting. ***NOTE: While it does not mention that each player selects one of these roles, the rules addendum for Police indicates that each player assumes one role of the 4 available. So there is only 1 Merchant, Pirate, etc.***
Ships are denoted by two stats, Worth and Cost. You start out with the most basic ship of the line for your profession. Worth is how much credits a ship earns you each turn if it meets its conditions. This is a d6 roll with a possible modifier. Cost is how much it costs to purchase a new ship and how much a defeated ship is worth in 1bil credits. Ships move 1 zone per turn.
Some sectors have a Star symbol in them. These are Alliance sectors where Pirates may attack other ships. Damaged Pirate ships though may not repair at an Allied system and must retreat to one of the non-allied Pirate systems. ***NOTE: Theres no mention of what a Pirate system is. But on the map are systems with red dots. I assume these are Pirate systems.***