Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Guerra a Muerte» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarifications and Adenda needs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Bosch
Spain
Girona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We are in the T1 of the game and still have several doubts about procedures and rules that should be addressed and then added to the rules errata/clarifications.

1.- Considering the turn order on the operations phase (first Patriot then Realist) it seems that the Blocking of a port fortress could only be done by the last, as any attempt of Blockades by the Patriot would be avoided by the Realist putting some naval units in the area during his turn. The opposite would be never possible because when the Realist attempts the blockade, the Patriot has already done all his movements. Considering that the Patriot doesn’t have enough naval units to cover all the areas, it means that every turn the Realist could succeed in a blockade.

2.- Could guerrillas be activated and move to an adjacent area? Logically it seems the answer is no, but in this case it should be specifically mentioned in the rules.

3.- Can a Force enter in a Neutral area and come back later on (in the same turn or next one) in a different area from where it entered? I assumed the answer is no, but it should be clarified as the rules are opaque on this.

4.- To cross from the Pacific to the Atlantic do you need to go to the adjacent areas first or you can do the movement straightforward (paying 2 Ops). Example: You are in area IX so you have to a) Go first to area X (1 OP) then cross (paying 2 Ops) to the III Pacific area and then go to Area II (paying another OP). Or b) You can go from the Atlantic IX to the Pacific III paying just 3 Ops (two for crossing and 1 because there are at less than 4 naval areas of distance).

5.- Is there a limit on the number of raids that a naval unit can do?

6.- Although the victory conditions had been clarified "11.1.1. Patriot wins if the Royalist controls 1 or 2 areas in the continent. (Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.); 11.1.2. Stalemate if the Royalist control 3-6 areas in the continent worth at least 14 RPs. (Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.); 11.1.3. Royalist victory if the Royalist controls 7 or more areas in the continent worth any number of RPs. (Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.)" There is one possible inconsistency if the Royalist controls 3-6 areas with least than 14 worth less than14 RPs. I assume that in this case the Patriot is the winner, but should be clarified in the 11.1.1 condition.

7.- When do you pay the extra OP point when crossing an area with enemies? A) When entering an area where there are enemy forces; b) When exiting an area with enemy forces c) When in the same activation you enter and exit an area with enemy units.



There are also some points that should be clarified in the rules errata according the comments of the author, Javier, in different Spanish and English forums:

1.- The player order for Phase 2 and Phase 3 Reorganization and reinforcements is simultaneous but there is nothing about in the rules. Would be great to specify how to implement this practically: Maybe a dice rolling for each segment (Completion of regular units, Build new units, forced recruitment, reinforcement arrivals, guerrilla activations, etc) to determine who goes first could be an option.

2.- Destroyed units always go to the Pool

3.- RP expenditure for buying Ops and reduce likelihood of attrition is done in Operations Phase

4.- The rules should specify that the Realist has the opportunity to reorganize his forces during the R&R phase because it’s important considering that the Patriot will move first.

5.- Activation order for the Patriot forces is according the nationality. In combined stacks, it will depend on the nationality of the majority

6. - The realist has ONLY 1d6 to determine how many units can be activated when Hidalgo is alive AND in Mexico.

7.- Avoiding combat doesn’t allow the defending unit to enter a fortress. It just remains in the same place.

8.- Islands are considered as a ports (you can embark units).

9.- You don’t need a port symbol to disembark units in the amphibious movement.

Finally, I think that definitely this is a very interesting game in a little covered subject. We really want to play it and see how it goes, it's just that there is an strong need to revise some opaque aspects of the rules before starting to see how the game shines...

Thans in advance.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Perez Ron
Spain
Sevilla
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mboschbo wrote:
6.- Although the victory conditions had been clarified "11.1.1. Patriot wins if the Royalist controls 1 or 2 areas in the continent. (Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.); 11.1.2. Stalemate if the Royalist control 3-6 areas in the continent worth at least 14 RPs. (Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.); 11.1.3. Royalist victory if the Royalist controls 7 or more areas in the continent worth any number of RPs. (Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.)" There is one possible inconsistency if the Royalist controls 3-6 areas with least than 14 worth less than14 RPs. I assume that in this case the Patriot is the winner, but should be clarified in the 11.1.1 condition.


And what happens if you have not enough steps at end of game in Mexico/Gutatemala or Cuba/Sto. Domingo/Puerto Rico? The rules says patriots add 2 areas but it would be better lesser 2 areas to royalist, right?

Regards, Manuel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Perez Ron
Spain
Sevilla
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mboschbo wrote:
9.- You don’t need a port symbol to disembark units in the amphibious movement.


However, in a previous clarification, jromero says me that must be a port in the area to disembark units transported by sea.

Regards, Manuel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Perez Ron
Spain
Sevilla
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mboschbo wrote:
6. - The realist has ONLY 1d6 to determine how many units can be activated when Hidalgo is alive AND in Mexico.


I guessed it war 2d6 but I will check it again. Thanks!

Regards, Manuel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Romero
Spain
Cerdanyola
Barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My apologies for the late answer

1.- Considering the turn order on the operations phase
(first Patriot then Realist) it seems that the Blocking of a port fortress could
only be done by the last, as any attempt of Blockades by the Patriot would be
avoided by the Realist putting some naval units in the area during his turn.
The opposite would be never possible because when the Realist attempts the blockade,
the Patriot has already done all his movements. Considering that the Patriot
doesn’t have enough naval units to cover all the areas, it means that every
turn the Realist could succeed in a blockade.

Yes, this is intentional. Historically, almost all the fortresses were under Royalist control at the beginning
of the war (the only exception being Cartagena, and it was successfully conquered
by Morillo's liberation army in 1815.) One of the reasons why the Royalists
resisted for so long in Venezuela and other locations was that they could always
withdraw to their fortifications in the coast and strike back when the situation
was favorable. When the Patriots had a navy strong enough to fight the Royalists
and defeat them they conquered blockade and force to surrender fortresses such
as Montevideo or Puerto Cabello, and bring the war to the core of the Spanish
Empire, Peru. Therefore, fleets and naval superiority are key to win this game.


2.- Could guerrillas be activated and move to an adjacent area? Logically it
seems the answer is no, but in this case it should be specifically mentioned
in the rules.

Correct, they can not move to adjacent areas.

3.- Can a Force enter in a
Neutral area and come back later on (in the same turn or next one) in a different
area from where it entered? I assumed the answer is no, but it should be clarified
as the rules are opaque on this.

No, they can't.

4.- To cross from the Pacific to the Atlantic do you
need to go to the adjacent areas first or you can do the movement straightforward
(paying 2 Ops). Example: You are in area IX so you have to a) Go first to area
X (1 OP) then cross (paying 2 Ops) to the III Pacific area and then go to Area
II (paying another OP). Or b) You can go from the Atlantic IX to the Pacific
III paying just 3 Ops (two for crossing and 1 because there are at less than
4 naval areas of distance).

You must pay 1 OP to enter Pacific Ocean X, then pay 2 OPs to enter Atlantic
Ocean III. (crossing the cabo de Hornos counts as moving 4 sea areas.)


5.- Is there a limit on the number of raids that
a naval unit can do?

No.

6.- Although the victory conditions had been clarified
"11.1.1. Patriot wins if the Royalist controls 1 or 2 areas in the continent.
(Not counting Cuba, P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.); 11.1.2. Stalemate if the Royalist
control 3-6 areas in the continent worth at least 14 RPs. (Not counting Cuba,
P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.); 11.1.3. Royalist victory if the Royalist controls
7 or more areas in the continent worth any number of RPs. (Not counting Cuba,
P. Rico or Sto. Domingo.)" There is one possible inconsistency if the Royalist
controls 3-6 areas with least than 14 worth less than14 RPs. I assume that in
this case the Patriot is the winner, but should be clarified in the 11.1.1 condition.


Correct, Patriot is the winner.

7.- When do you pay the extra OP point when crossing
an area with enemies? A) When entering an area where there are enemy forces;
b) When exiting an area with enemy forces c) When in the same activation you
enter and exit an area with enemy units.

Options B and C are correct.
7.- Avoiding combat doesn’t allow the defending unit
to enter a fortress. It just remains in the same place.

Correct.
8.- Islands are considered as a ports (you can embark
units).

Correct.

9.- You don’t need a port symbol to disembark units
in the amphibious movement.

Correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Perez Ron
Spain
Sevilla
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarifications. I've added to my rules summary in spanish.

Regards, Manuel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.