Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a genestealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, if he's on overwatch he may fire. Also, if a genesltealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, the marine may consume Command Points to react.

However, can both overwatch fire and CP be consumed by the same genestealer action? If you use the CP to fire normally, the overwatch will be removed, but if you use the CP to unjam the bolter, the overwatch status will remain.

How's people's views on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Gehrig
United States
East Dundee
Illinois
flag msg tools
If you wuld like to preserve your overwatch, I think that the only action you can take is clearing a jam. Once you cross that line into spending other CP for other actions, you loose your overwatch.

With that said, you could have to marines within LOS of a genestealer that just took an action. If the first marine was on overwatch, you could take your over watch shot, AND spend a command point on the second marine to take a shot at the Genestealer as well. So, both a CP and overwatch can be used by the same action, however it would be on to separate marines.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Metzler
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
"Are you pondering what I'm pondering Pinky?"
badge
"Wuhhh... I think so, Brain, but if a ham can operate a radio, why can't a pig set a VCR?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zimeon wrote:
If a genestealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, if he's on overwatch he may fire. Also, if a genesltealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, the marine may consume Command Points to react.

However, can both overwatch fire and CP be consumed by the same genestealer action? If you use the CP to fire normally, the overwatch will be removed, but if you use the CP to unjam the bolter, the overwatch status will remain.

How's people's views on this?


This has been discussed to death and the answer is as follows:

In response to a genestealer action on the genestealer turn a marine gets ONE action in response. This action may be a free shot from overwatch or an action used by spending a CP, NOT BOTH. Essentially you can only take one action in response to a genestealer action per marine, regardless of the cost of that action.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Corn
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
How appropriate. You fight like a cow.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Read this, it will probably help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Corn
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
How appropriate. You fight like a cow.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
slaqr wrote:
Zimeon wrote:
If a genestealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, if he's on overwatch he may fire. Also, if a genesltealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, the marine may consume Command Points to react.

However, can both overwatch fire and CP be consumed by the same genestealer action? If you use the CP to fire normally, the overwatch will be removed, but if you use the CP to unjam the bolter, the overwatch status will remain.

How's people's views on this?


This has been discussed to death and the answer is as follows:

In response to a genestealer action on the genestealer turn a marine gets ONE action in response. This action may be a free shot from overwatch or an action used by spending a CP, NOT BOTH. Essentially you can only take one action in response to a genestealer action per marine, regardless of the cost of that action.

Yes. It's important to remember that CP spending must occur first before any overwatch shots.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Weuve
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Zimeon wrote:
If you use the CP to fire normally, the overwatch will be removed, but if you use the CP to unjam the bolter, the overwatch status will remain.


I haven't seen 3e (or even 2e) Space Hulk, but in 1e, if your bolter jammed, you lost overwatch. If the 'stealer obliged by taking more moves in your field of view, you could clear the jam and reset overwatch, but you'd have to use CPs to do each action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Thornton
United States
Canby
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe they are discussing 3rd Edition. Your comment could confuse gamers trying to play properly...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Duval
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Haggis wrote:
slaqr wrote:
Zimeon wrote:
If a genestealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, if he's on overwatch he may fire. Also, if a genesltealer takes an action within LOS of a marine, the marine may consume Command Points to react.

However, can both overwatch fire and CP be consumed by the same genestealer action? If you use the CP to fire normally, the overwatch will be removed, but if you use the CP to unjam the bolter, the overwatch status will remain.

How's people's views on this?


This has been discussed to death and the answer is as follows:

In response to a genestealer action on the genestealer turn a marine gets ONE action in response. This action may be a free shot from overwatch or an action used by spending a CP, NOT BOTH. Essentially you can only take one action in response to a genestealer action per marine, regardless of the cost of that action.

Yes. It's important to remember that CP spending must occur first before any overwatch shots.



You also need to remember that as the last line in the FAQ states that after CP is spent you check overwatch for any marines that did not use any CP. Which means if you unjam your weapon, that marine cannot fire on overwatch that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.