Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

18GA» Forums » Rules

Subject: triple run to Atlanta? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Mumford
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
ceci n'est pas une pipe
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it possible to score Atlanta more than once with the same train? My reading of the rules is no. But a previous thread (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/43957), in 1856, indicated yes:
TheCat wrote:
There are only a few games where it [scoring the same city more than once] is allowed. One I can think of that explicitly allows it is 18GA, where the triple Atlanta run is explicitly called out in the rules. In fact, the only games I can think of where it is allowed are those where there are completely separate city circles and track on a single tile.

I'm not seeing where this is called out in the rules.

I'd assume a company with three trains could make three separate runs to Atlanta, as long as no runs share any section of track, but I can't see any other way it could work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Costas
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rules in front of me but I think it has to do with the configuration of the stations.

To be sure, the Atlanta trifecta is the gravy run in this game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Canar
United States
Des Plaines
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Doesn't this picture demonstrate it?

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/image/115783

Enter Atlanta from the southeast, exit the northwest, loop around and enter from the northeast, exit the southwest, loop around and enter straight in from the west.

I've only played it once, but I think what i just described would work.

hth,
jeff
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Mumford
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
ceci n'est pas une pipe
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rockusultimus wrote:
To be sure, the Atlanta trifecta is the gravy run in this game.

Sure, if it is legal. I'm not sure the rules bear that out.
18GA rulebook wrote:
The route cannot include any city, town, or off-board location more than once.

Atlanta may have three separate routes passing through, but it is still one city. However, if a corp has three trains, they could all score Atlanta on three different routes:
18GA rulebook wrote:
When a corporation operates more than one train on a turn, no two trains may use a single section of track, no matter how short. It is all right for multiple trains to run to the same city, town, or off-board location, so long as the tracks used by each train are separate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules, page 20, emphasis added:

Quote:
An examination of the map will show
that Atlanta is probably the key hex in
the game. It is vital for railroads to be
able to reach or pass through Atlanta to
obtain the most profitable runs late in the
game. Playtesting has shown that the
Western & Atlantic Railroad is almost
always one of the first railroads formed.
The orientation of the Atlanta tile will
determine which direction the W&A will
build in. The majority of recorded
games seem to indicate that the W&A
usually places Atlanta in a northwest
orientation followed by a tile build and
token placement in Rome. It is possible
to score Atlanta three times after the
brown tile has been played depending on
token placement and this is usually the
best run in the game with a five train.
If
the W&A had more tokens, it would
probably be the most powerful railroad
in the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Mumford
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
ceci n'est pas une pipe
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
right.. a five train can go to Atlanta three times. yet a train cannot score any city more than once. Is Atlanta considered to be three separate single token cities then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
photocurio:

Non-connected circles on a single tile are almost always regarded in 18xx rules as separate cities. Games where it's not allowed to run to more than one city in the same hex usually state so in those terms.

"City" means "white circle or joined circles", not anything to do with real geography.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Yes...notice the city is never combined into a single station:





For comparison, here is 3 stations grouped as 1 city (from 18TN):
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
photocurio wrote:
right.. a five train can go to Atlanta three times. yet a train cannot score any city more than once. Is Atlanta considered to be three separate single token cities then?


Yes. If it weren't considered to be three separate cities, the sentence I quoted would make no sense.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel D'Cotta
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TheCat wrote:
photocurio wrote:
right.. a five train can go to Atlanta three times. yet a train cannot score any city more than once. Is Atlanta considered to be three separate single token cities then?


Yes. If it weren't considered to be three separate cities, the sentence I quoted would make no sense.


If white cirles on a tile touch each other, then they are all a single city.

However if the white circles on a tile do not touch each other, then each is a city.



Thus in 18GA, Atlanta is considered as 3 cities.
So each of the 3 cities in Atlanta can be score by the same train.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.