Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I have had Fields of Fire a couple of weeks. I have tried the first Normandy mission 6 times and still not been successful. Each time I tried, it was a different experience as the map changed and the enemy actions changed.

I have only a couple of years experience with wargaming so I am almost always wowed by each new game I get. However, none of them have given me a charge like this one. Fortunately I found using the unofficial reorganized rules enhanced by frequent rule checks on BGG a pretty painless process. The rules are complicated in that there are so many different things to remember, so many decisions and so much detail to the action. I love calling in artillery missions or ordering my mortar team to pound the enemy. I feel the frustration of trying to keep my chain of command and communication intact while keeping strong units in good locations to do damage. This frustration is part of the game. Nothing in the game comes easily. Everything decision has a price and cost/benefit must always be considered.

One small part of the game I particularly like is the pyrotechnics. The rules for using these are very loose and you can decide what your signals mean. I do not know of any other game where each mission you make up part of the rules yourself.

I think the AI for generating enemy placement and actions is brilliant. Very tense and so far, realistic. However, this can be brutal. I have quit 2 mission attempts on the first turn after my troops have been decimated by the enemy. To be honest, the dynamic play makes this game feel like a sophisticated "real time strategy" computer game, but more fun as I know what is happening behind the scenes.