Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Cutthroat Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: damage calculations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rocco D
msg tools
Hi, I noticed on this forum, some confusion about when to rotate cards or how to calculate damage.

I want to put forth some examples of what I believe are correct interpretations and hope I can get some constructive criticism from others.

to my understanding, you do not "rotate" a card with a rider attached to it, you place the rider underneath the card in the damage stack, meaning that the card can still be rotated up or down from it's initial value.


example 1

if a slip behind is used on a 30, then you put it in the stack under the 30 card to show as 30 * 2 = 60.

if someone uses twist the knife to rotate it upward

that would turn it to 60*2 = 120.

now the card is turned to it's highest value and can no longer be rotated via a second twist the knife card.

example 2

from the rule book it shows a 30 with focus strength attached making

it reads as 30+30 = 60
rotated lower it reads as 15+30 = 45.
rotated higher it reads as 60+30 = 90

example 3

there is "focus strength" first then a "slip behind" under a 30

then it would read as (30+30)*2 = 120...
rotated up it would read as (60+30)*2 = 180
and rotated down it would read as (15+30)*2 = 90


example 4
there is a "slip behind" first then "focus strength"
it is read as (30*2)+30 = 90
rotated upward makes it (60*2)+30 = 150
and rotated downward makes it (15*2)+30 = 60

example 5

there are two "focus strength" cards on a 30

it reads as 30+30+30 = 90
rotated lower : 15+30+30 = 75
rotated higher : 60+30+30 = 120

example 6

two "slip behind" cards on a 30: from the rule booklet "two slip behinds would only allow one 2x modifier"

it still reads as 30*2 = 60 making one of the slip behinds go to waste.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That all looks correct to me...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike iapezzuto
United States
bronx
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In example 2 the rule book says attack card & rider are rotated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.