1 , 2  Next »   | 

Space Hulk (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: A question about the parry rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregory Taft
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I am new to the game and I have a question I can't see any answers for on any of the forums.

Its about the way the dice are rolled in the event of a parry.

A friend and I dissagreed.

When the genestealer rolls 3 dice (2,6,6) and the highest is rerolled because of the parry rule. Do the remaining 2 die count when determining the highest roll?

My friend believes that when the highest die is picked for parrying that is the nominated die which will count in the calculation.

I find this hard to accept because it seems as if rolling 3 dice to begin with becomes redundant and its still 1 die against 1.

for example: If I was to roll (2,6,6), was made to reroll one of the 6's and it came up 3. the three would be my highest because the die in question had already been deemed as 'the highest' and at which point the remaining two die would have been discarded.

I hope this makes sence

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bigney
United States
Kingston
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you roll a 2,6,6 and re-roll one 6, you still have the remaining leftover 6. So parry won't help you.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Corn
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
How appropriate. You fight like a cow.
mbmbmbmbmb
All three dice still count, you just have to re-roll the highest single die and recalculate based on the new set of three dice.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Arroyo
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm... we're talking about the power sword, rignt? the rules do say "re-roll his highest scoring dice" so both sixes should be re-rolled.

I seem to remember this having been discussed before...