Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: an unmanned viper can be activated indefinately? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lee Boon Chuan
msg tools
as in the rulebook stated,

Activating Vipers

Although Galactica does have mounted weaponry, its real
military strength lies in its squadrons of single-man fighters
known as vipers. The main purpose of vipers is to defend the
fleet, particularly civilian ships, from Cylon ships. Vipers are
usually activated by using the “Command” location.
When a player activates a viper, he must choose one of the
following options:

• Launch a Viper:
The player takes a viper from the “Reserves” and places it in one of the two space areas marked with the viper launch icon (see page 24).

• Move a Viper:
The player chooses a viper that is already in a space area. He may move the viper to an adjacent space area. Note that vipers may not fly “over” Galactica; they may only move clockwise or counterclockwise “around” it, between directly adjacent space areas.

• Attack with a Viper:
The player chooses a viper and a Cylon ship that are in the same space area. He then rolls one eight-sided die to resolve an attack following the rules under “Attacking” on page 24.


Each unmanned viper may be activated any number of times during a
player’s turn, but players may not activate ships that are
being piloted by another player.


so with the starting of 2 vipers of the game, and if the 1st player were in the command area of bsg, does this mean he can move indefinitely and attacked the raiders n base ship indefinately because each of the viper can be activated any numbers of time? If not, how many times can a viper attack a raider/ heavy raider/ base ships?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
The rules mean that the same viper may be moved as many times as allowed by whatever mechanic is activating it.

So you can move it as much as you want but only up to the limit of that effect.

If you use Command, you are limited to 2 activations. If you use Apollo's CAG action, you are limited to 6 activations. If Apollo gets XO'd and uses both Command and CAG, then the same unmanned viper could move up to 8 times.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Pontiff
United States
Houma
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
The rules mean that the same viper may be moved as many times as allowed by whatever mechanic is activating it.

So you can move it as much as you want but only up to the limit of that effect.

If you use Command, you are limited to 2 activations. If you use Apollo's CAG action, you are limited to 6 activations. If Apollo gets XO'd and uses both Command and CAG, then the same unmanned viper could move up to 8 times.


That is the confusing part that I think everyone is questioning. The Command actions states, "Activate up to 2 unmanned vipers." This sentence implies that you can only activate a viper once; however, you may only activate 1 or 2 vipers. There is no wording in place to state that you may activate 1 unmanned viper twice as an exception. Either their wording could have been better or an additional statement could have been added to the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Fryd Pickles wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
The rules mean that the same viper may be moved as many times as allowed by whatever mechanic is activating it.

So you can move it as much as you want but only up to the limit of that effect.

If you use Command, you are limited to 2 activations. If you use Apollo's CAG action, you are limited to 6 activations. If Apollo gets XO'd and uses both Command and CAG, then the same unmanned viper could move up to 8 times.


That is the confusing part that I think everyone is questioning. The Command actions states, "Activate up to 2 unmanned vipers." This sentence implies that you can only activate a viper once; however, you may only activate 1 or 2 vipers. There is no wording in place to state that you may activate 1 unmanned viper twice as an exception. Either their wording could have been better or an additional statement could have been added to the board.

No one is arguing it shouldn't have been more clear. But it has been clarified by the designer even back at the time of this posting over 2 years ago that is the intent. You get 2 viper activations. Use them on the same viper or 2 different ones.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
joey tomato
Canada
flag msg tools
Can you return vipers to the reserves using command?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
No... activations are only to
1. Launch
2. Move
3. Fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
markino wrote:
No... activations are only to
1. Launch
2. Move
3. Fire.

Or, when playing with the Cylon Fleet Board from Exodus:

(4. Escort)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.