Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Age of Exploration» Forums » Rules

Subject: Extending known progress chit? (confused) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alexander Corzo
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In figure 9 it says to place the chit at the branching point but why not where you ended your movement?

Is known progress only one space per turn even in the sea?


WHen you go down the NWP do you move the Known progress after you move or after you status change? When do you check for advancing known progress?


thanks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Known sea progress is only extended when you *publish*.

In figure 9, the expedition marker itself (the ship) is marking its potential extension of known sea progress down that track that it's on and the Discovery chit is marking the potential extension of KSP to the branching point. If the ship was partway down a track and then turned around, you would place another Discovery chit to mark how far it had gone on its track when it left its furthest space. If the expedition was later lost at sea while attempting to return, you would remove all these Discovery chits. If it successfully returned and published, then you would shift/place two known sea progress markers, one at the branching point and one on the furthest space along the track that the ship had gone down.

Re: NWP: neither -- you move the Known Progress chit when you published to the highest numbered NWP space that you had visited (which you would have placed a Discovery chit on when you turned back to go publish).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.