Luis Diaz
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the gaming world and have picked it up as my newest hobby. I've spent I don't know how much money on some awesome games I never knew existed. My gaming horizons have been broadened and I feel compelled to share my new vision w/ the rest of my friends. So the best way I do that is by introducing Ticket to Ride. At first, they're put off a little by the train theme but after the game gets rolling they're hooked. I tried this on a group of friends the other day and they loved it. I mean, they don't want to play any other game but this! I love the game but my limit was three Europe games in a row. And then after the 3 europe games they wanted to play U.S. again!

I'm glad I have new people to play TTR with but I wish I had a more open-minded group to play with. I have San Juan, Last Night on Earth, and Pandemic just sitting there collecting dust and noone willing to play it. It seems the gateway gate has been smashed shut in my face. (sigh) I'll have to keep trying though. Wish me luck fellow geeks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hammock Backpacker
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Hot Coffee...Mmmmmm
badge
Go Take A HIke!
mbmbmbmbmb

Patience grasshopper...

(Congrats on having a group that wants to play anything cardboard.)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
norman rule
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, there's a whole world of train themed games you could use to diversify their interest.

Or something like Thurn and Taxis with a similar mechanics, but a different feel.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Knauer
United States
Heathrow
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thurn and Taxis is a good suggestion.

Also, Railways of the World/Railways of Europe are meatier games that might resonate with Ticket to Ride fans.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henry Dove
United States
Easton
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb