Subject: Question about which creatures should be in a deck rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick the Greek
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to magic so my question may sound a little stupid. I have been looking at all those creature cards and apart from those that have special abilities like flying, reach, trample, lifelink and a few others, I do not see any point in adding other standard creatures in a deck.

I have the impression that it is a must to have fliers or creatures with reach in your deck. Those are all-time blockers (except they can't block creatures with trample), so why should I bother getting other creatures? I think that it is the best way to keep your deck viable, if you decide to include any creatures in it.

Now I may be wrong and short-sighted, but any advice would be welcome.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
admin
Convention Committee
badge
BGG.CON! BGG.CON SPRING! BGG@SEA!
mbmbmbmbmb
Special abilities usually increase the casting cost of creatures. If you plan on getting any creatures out early (or for cheap), plain-jane is sometimes the way to go.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Merfolk Looter is an awesome card that doesn't do "creature-like" things.

Birds of Paradise might be the most played creature ever. (It does have flying, but is a 0/1.)

Any creature that as "Whenever this creature enters the Battlefield..." (aka 'comes into play effects') are sweet, especially if you have ways of getting them onto the battlefield repeatedly.

Also, some creatures have disadvantages, making them cost less. These can be very powerful if you can either mitigate the disadvantage or even turn it into an advantage.

It is not a must to have fliers or reach. I'll take a beefy green 6/6 against 4 1/3 fliers.