Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

D-Day at Omaha Beach» Forums » Rules

Subject: Preservation Moves? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
I am a bit confused about the example picture on page 12 of the rulebook. Why does the far right unit have two possible hexes allowed, but the unit in the middle only can move to hex 0608?

And, the unit that moves to 0608, on the next turn, could it move to hex 0709 as a preservation move?

Thanks to anyone's help with this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Adams
Australia
Oakleigh
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
A fan of new Knizia games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These call all be wrong, but as I understand it ...

Preservation moves have to move closer to a protective hexside. 0509 can't move to 0609 as it would still be two hexes from such a hexside (which 0509 is). 0608 is up against the slope or bluff (not sure what it is, but it contains a protective hexside) so the 0509 must go that way.

The unit that ends up in 0608 cannot go to 0709 as a preservation move next turn. 0608 is already containing a protective hexside, and 0709 doesn't bring it any closer.

The unit in 0511 on the right can only go ahead towards the shingle(?), so two options available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Butterfield
United States
Fremont
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Craig -- A move is a preservation move only if it takes the unit closer to a protective hexside. In the illustration, the unit is 0509 is one hex away from a hex with a protective hexside (0608). If it moves to 0609 or 0507 it would still be one hex away from a hex with a protective hexside, so neither of those moves are preservation moves. Only the move into 0608 is a preservation move. For the unit in 0511, both hexes 0610 and 0611 are closer to protective hexsides than 0511, so both are valid preservation moves.

Regarding your second question, a unit starting in 0608 cannot do a preservation move at all. It is already in a beach hex with a protective hexside, so moving will not get it any closer to a protective hexside.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanks so much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.