Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Isle of Doctor Necreaux» Forums » Rules

Subject: Diabolical Research Lab rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edd Allard
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, here's another one where the card's wording seems to be overly advantageous to the players. The card allows you to take one item from the discard or pending items cards if you qualify. If, however, there are "no pending item cards, your team gains a free rest action."

This is the situation we had. No cards in the pending items, but one item in the discard. Team had one tech so rolled one die. The die result was a 5, so the team took the item from the discard pile. However, since there were "no pending item cards", could the team also take a free rest action? It seems like that would be allowed based on the wording. Thoughts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Leistiko
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edralla wrote:
Okay, here's another one where the card's wording seems to be overly advantageous to the players. The card allows you to take one item from the discard or pending items cards if you qualify. If, however, there are "no pending item cards, your team gains a free rest action."

This is the situation we had. No cards in the pending items, but one item in the discard. Team had one tech so rolled one die. The die result was a 5, so the team took the item from the discard pile. However, since there were "no pending item cards", could the team also take a free rest action? It seems like that would be allowed based on the wording. Thoughts?

Quick Answer: Um... Oops?

Long Answer: That's certainly a wording error. My intent was if you didn't get an item from the card, you got a free rest action. We overlooked completely qualifying the rest condition after a re-write that added the option to take a card from the discards.

If you don't take the rest if you get an item, you're playing it as intended. If you play it as you described, you're playing it as written, and that's okay too.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edd Allard
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The good news is we've been playing it as intended. On the other hand, playing it as written would have been good news too! Thanks for the prompt response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.