Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Chaos in the Old World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ruination: Question about the 6th ruination rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Nutt
United States
Ontario
Oregon
flag msg tools
bah bah bah bah....woof
badge
My...what big teeth you have
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just played an extremely tight game tonight. It really could have been anybody's. In a nut shell, here is what happened:

Three regions have already been ruined. On about the 5th go around of the game, three more regions fall into ruination in a single turn. Cards are played out, but there are only five ruination cards in total. When the fifth one is played, there isn't a sixth to put out. Victory conditions are not checked until the last phase of the game, so when the fourth and fifth are put out in region order, the sixth (which met criteria for being ruined) was in essense not ruined because there wasn't a 6th ruination card to place. For gaming purposes, we assigned no points for ruination for that 6th region. The game ended in the last phase because five areas were ruined, but the 6th region would have meant that someone else would have won the game if points were given to it.

Did we play this right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"If a region would be ruined according to the count of
corruption tokens there, but no ruination cards remain
in the stack (because five regions have already been
ruined), then the region is not ruined, and no points are
scored for its ruination, either by ruiners (as described
above) or by the players with the most and second-most
corruption tokens there (see “Score Ruined Regions”
later on this page)." (p. 20)

So yeah, you played it right.

EDIT: IBB
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Nutt
United States
Ontario
Oregon
flag msg tools
bah bah bah bah....woof
badge
My...what big teeth you have
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.