Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Accepting Compensation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle Vogel
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmb
Can a player who has to play a Negotiate card because it is the only encounter card left in his hand have to take "compensation" when they lose?

The question was raised earlier tonight during a game where a player was attacked at his colony and only had a Negotiate card left. The rules state you must play a an encounter card if you have one, so he played it knowing he would lose. He lost 4 ships in the encounter and did not want to take "compensation" from the attacker because the attacking player only had 4 cards in his hand, and the defender had a pretty good idea that all those cards were crap.

We read the rules and it implies that Compensation must be taken, so he took the 4 cards (under protest) and of course they were crap. 3 more Negotiates and a +2 reinforcement. So .... could the defending player have chosen not to take the Compensation in order to switch out his hand and redraw 8 new cards on his next offense/defense action?

Thanks for any help.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toomai Glittershine
Canada
flag msg tools
I'm pretty exceedingly sure that compensation is mandatory.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark W
United States
Islip
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Toomai Glittershine wrote:
I'm pretty exceedingly sure that compensation is mandatory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is mandatory, as implied by the wording of the Wild Barbarian Flare:

"When gaining compensation or rewards, you may look at the cards you receive and discard any of them you do not want. Discarded cards are not replaced."

The only other option is to somehow get Ionic Gas played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
That's not my name.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Its not just the Barbarian flare. FFG rulebook, page 11:

(bold for emphasis, not in the original)

Compensation

When one player plays a negotiate and his opponent plays an attack card, the player who played the negotiate card gets to collect compensation. That player must randomly take one card for each ship he or she lost to the warp (not counting any allies’ ships – they go to the warp without compensation) from his or her opponent’s hand. If the player’s opponent doesn’t have enough cards to provide full compensation, the player takes the opponent’s entire hand of cards.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Vogel
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks everybody. That was how I read it as well.

The player that got hosed by it has a problem with the term "Compensation". His stance was that the term itself implies a voluntary acceptance, not a mandatory one. We all told him to stop being a whiner and deal with it.

Thanks again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
That's not my name.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Think of it as receiving a letter from Galactic Central stating:

"We're sorry your attempts to Negotiate with the aggressive __________ were unsuccessful. You have been awarded X cards (attached) as compensation for your losses. This transaction terminates your interest in and claim to any future remuneration from this event. We consider this matter closed. Thank you, have a nice civilization arc."

Sometimes it's just Kafka/Brazil/Paranoia.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Krogue wrote:
The player that got hosed by it has a problem with the term "Compensation". His stance was that the term itself implies a voluntary acceptance, not a mandatory one. We all told him to stop being a whiner and deal with it.


You know, in the EON version, there was an alien power called The Sniveller, who had the power to whine. Sounds like the perfect alien for your friend

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From: http://redamedia.com/warp/anypower.php3

SNIVELER [O:7] CATCHES UP WHEN BEHIND Eon
You have the power to whine. As a main player whenever you: have the most tokens in the Warp, the fewest bases of any player, or lack a challenge card you need, you may whine about it. If you whine about your tokens, either all other players must agree that you can take all your tokens out, or (if possible) they each must place tokens into the Warp until each matches your number there. If you whine about a base, either all other players must agree to let you have one extra base (you pick where) or they each lose one (their pick). If you whine about cards, you name what you need - "I don't have an Attack higher than a 15" (you can't lie). Either one player gives you such a card or all players discard all such cards in their hands. You may whine only once per challenge.

History: The Snivelers developed in the evolutionary shadow of a closely related but older and more gifted race. Beset by adversity at every turn, they looked to their elder brethren for succor and defense. Now grown adept at self-pity and having liquidated their generous patrons they turn their wet, envious gaze toward the heavens.

Timing:
Play at any time

Notes: The recommended experience level for this power is Advanced. This is a Resource type power.

Wild: When not a main player and not invited to ally at all, complain to one player. If that player still does not invite you, he or she may not invite any allies (previous allies return to bases).

Super: If another player wins the game and you have just one base less, the winner(s) allow you a joint win or you may challenge one who refuses. If you gain the base you and all your allies win the game. If you don't, the player(s) who won the first challenge wins.





--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SNIVELER [O:Mayfa] Catches Up When Behind Mayfair
You have the power to whine. As a main player, whenever you: have the most tokens in the warp, the fewest bases of any player, or lack a Challenge Card you need, you may "whine" about it. If you whine about your tokens, either all other players agree that you can free all your tokens from the warp, or they must place tokens into the warp until each matches your number there. If you whine about a base, either all other players must agree to let you have one extra base (you pick where) or they each lose one base (their choice). If you whine about cards, you name what you need (example: "I don't have an Attack Card higher than a 15."). You can't lie. Either one player gives you such a card, or all players must discard all such cards in their hands. You may whine only once per challenge.

History: The Snivelers developed in the evolutionary shadow of a closely related but older and more gifted race. Beset by adversity at every turn, they looked to their elder brethren for succor and defense. Now adept at self-pity and having liquidated their generous patrons, they turn their wet, envious gaze towards the heavens.

Timing:
Play at any time

Notes: The recommended experience level for this power is Advanced. This is a Resource type power.

Wild1: When not a main player and not invited to ally at all, you may complain to one of the main players. If that player still does not invite you to ally with him, he may not invite any allies during that challenge.

Super1: If another player wins the game and you have just one base less, the winner(s) must grant you a joint win or face one more challenge. If you win the challenge, you and your allies win the game. If you lose, the first result stands.

Pro: You may whine twice in the challenge.

Con: Play this card when Sniveler whines. Your bases, tokens, and cards do not count. Sniveler may whine about something else instead or keep the same whine. The new whine may be for something that now qualifies where as because of your game effects it did not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marhawkman wrote:
Pro: You may whine twice in the challenge.

Con: Play this card when Sniveler whines. Your bases, tokens, and cards do not count. Sniveler may whine about something else instead or keep the same whine. The new whine may be for something that now qualifies where as because of your game effects it did not.


I've never played the Mayfair version, what are the Pro/Con affects? Are these cards, like flares?

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
That's not my name.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
The Pro/Con effects were Jack Reda's addition (I think).

Because Mayfair had one-shot flares, the Pro/Con cards were added for each power and served like Eon flares. Holding your Pro/Con card made you extra powerful, holding someone else's gave you some protection from them.

They weren't part of the game or expansion as shipped, but The Warp has them all listed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's interesting, flares that work /against/ another player's power. That'd be kind of cool to have in that game IMHO...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark W
United States
Islip
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Krogue wrote:
Thanks everybody. That was how I read it as well.

The player that got hosed by it has a problem with the term "Compensation". His stance was that the term itself implies a voluntary acceptance, not a mandatory one. We all told him to stop being a whiner and deal with it.

Thanks again.

A big part of the game is hand management, and dealing with negotiations, compensation and crappy hands (yours and the other players') is all part of that. He could have suggested that the defender play a negotiate too, and maybe they could have traded colony-for-colony or something else mutually beneficial. (Some groups don't allow players to suggest negotiate, but I don't have a problem with it.) Even when negotiation fails, taking the loss of three ships might be more desirable than a bad hand.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.