Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fear, Breathe, Knockback, Stun rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Newland
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Ninja Vanish!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for asking so many questions, just want to be a good OL. Any who, here goes.

1. Fear: Can someone give me an example of how this works with a monster and hero please.

2. Breath: Does it go through rubble and what not but not through walls? Very weird, please help here. Thanks.

3. Knockback for larger Monsters: I do not understand this at all, please help. Could an example be given here?

4. Stun: Basically if a monster with stun hits you, they only way not to get stunned is for them to miss with the red die. I looked at the rest of the dice. The green have at least one hit point on them. Is this broken?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Modrog grabs his axe and swings at a master demon (Fear 2). He rolls his dice (red, green, 3 black) and comes out with 3 surges. He spends 2 surges to negate the demon's Fear, leaving him with 1 surge to spend on damage (via the axe card). If he had rolled fewer than 2 surges, he would have been unable to overcome Fear, and his attack would have missed, regardless of what else he rolled.

2. Yes. It works like a flying monster, so it goes through figures and obstacles, but not walls. See the FAQ for a more detailed example.

3. If you use a Knockback attack and hit a small (1x1) monster, you can move it 3 spaces. If you hit a 1x2 monster (like a hellhound), you can only move it 2 spaces. If you hit a 2x2 or larger monster, you can't move it at all.

There are some weapons in the Altar of Despair expansion that let you knock back monsters further, and thus make it possible to knock back large monsters at all.

4. There are a bunch of status effects (Burn, Bleed, Daze, Frost, Stun, Web) that only work if the attack deals 1 damage (before armor). That usually is the same as saying if the attack hits, but it's possible to roll zero damage if you use only blue/yellow/black dice. Ranged/magic attacks can also miss due to range.

But in the particular case of a master razorwing or a giant, yes, it always stuns you unless it rolls an X. It's powerful, but not broken, especially considering that razorwings and giants are otherwise rather weak for their tier.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Descent FAQ: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/descent/faq/de...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.