Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello to the community,

In a recent game my initial character was the Minstrel.
I rolled snake eyes at the Temple, causing me to lose my last two remaining lives (I had even acquired a Talisman!).

On my next turn I started with a new character, the Wizard.
I placed him at his starting site, the Graveyard.

There was already a Wild Boar at the Graveyard (an undefeated enemy from a previous turn).

Now my question is: in this situation, does the Wizard immediately encounter the Wild Boar? I'm guessing he does, but I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks for your time and help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spencer Garbanzo
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rules in front of me, but off the top of my head I would say that you don't encounter the boar. I would play it like you had ended your last turn (even though there was no "last turn") in the graveyard. You roll and move away.

Also, you don't draw a card in the graveyard, do you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Tubb
United States
Fuquay Varina
NC
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say no.

Also, how did an enemy get in the graveyard? Displacement spell?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good rule of thumb to keep in mind:

You never encounter the space you start in, unless you first have an encounter somewhere else.

If you start in X, go to Y and an encounter bumps you back to X (whether you choose to go back to X or the encounter doesn't give you a choice, i.e. Patrol), then it's okay.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Also, how did an enemy get in the graveyard? Displacement spell?


Yes, I think that was it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
Good rule of thumb to keep in mind:

You never encounter the space you start in, unless you first have an encounter somewhere else.

If you start in X, go to Y and an encounter bumps you back to X (whether you choose to go back to X or the encounter doesn't give you a choice, i.e. Patrol), then it's okay.


Thanks for that, Rauli.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart de Groot
United Kingdom
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You would encounter the Wild Boar if you had been teleported there, but dying and restarting is not the same. So no encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Bart.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.