Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Witch of Salem» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bad spanish translation of event cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guillermo Heras Prieto
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The spanish version of the event cards that add a shadow to the University say:
"Reveal the next Great Old One card yet unrevealed and put it as a shadow".

Shouldn't this be "Get the first revealed Great Old One card and put it a a hadow"?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In english, we've always done "Place the most recently revealed 'Great Old One' from around R'lyeh as a shadow at Miskatonic University." Not the first revealed.

But yeah, that translation is definitely different. Can't say it's wrong until we see the official english version.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Rapp
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
William Where wrote:
The spanish version of the event cards that add a shadow to the University say:
"Reveal the next Great Old One card yet unrevealed and put it as a shadow".

Shouldn't this be "Get the first revealed Great Old One card and put it a a hadow"?

Thanks


This is a wrong translation. The most recent revealed Great Old One is put in the University as a shadow.

But it sounds as if this makes for an interesting variant: Helps the players because they need one action and one Necronomicon less. But on the other hand they will not know which Great Old One will appear - this is a disadvantage.

And it will raise problems if the card is drawn just before the end of the game, once all Great Old Ones but the one in R'leyh have been revealed. There's no proper way to deal with that situation.

Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guillermo Heras Prieto
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers.
Our first game was very easy: we had only two shadows, and the last third opf the game we were withouth shadow, since no great old one was uncovered.
With this correction it will be more interesting.
Two questions:
1) This rule means that if GOO 1 and 2 are uncovered and we get the event card, GOO 2 is put as a shadow. If then we defeat GOO 2 and the event shoiws again, is GOO 1 put as a shadow then?
2) The GOO in Rl'yeh is never put as a shadow, right?

Thanks you very much
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Rapp
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
William Where wrote:
Thanks for the answers.
Our first game was very easy: we had only two shadows, and the last third opf the game we were withouth shadow, since no great old one was uncovered.
With this correction it will be more interesting.
Two questions:
1) This rule means that if GOO 1 and 2 are uncovered and we get the event card, GOO 2 is put as a shadow. If then we defeat GOO 2 and the event shoiws again, is GOO 1 put as a shadow then?
2) The GOO in Rl'yeh is never put as a shadow, right?

Thanks you very much


The answer to both questions is "yes".

Have fun with the witch,

Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis E. Hernández

Puerto de Sagunto, Valencia, SPAIN
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So my original translation of the card from last year was right
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.