Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another tax chip question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Don Brandt
United States
Manchester
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a little confused about the tax chips. If a water section is first controlled by blue exclusively it gets a blue tax chip....check! Now, yellow moves into same water area, no battle, blue chip remains? Continuing, purple and black move in, blue chip remains? Now black kills blue, 3 colors other than blue left, blue chip remains?

Also on a simplier note, blue has exclusive water area, black moves in and battles, therefore no ships left, blue chip remains?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel J
United States
Iowa City
IA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
done111 wrote:
Also on a simplier note, blue has exclusive water area, black moves in and battles, therefore no ships left, blue chip remains?


Correct. I wouldn't even worry about the first situation. That would be one weird game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D E
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The country who had the last standing army there (first come, first serve), gets a tax chip for that territory. It is the same for land and sea. If a country is "hosting" other countries' units, the first country keeps their tax chip there. If a country is mutually destroyed by an invading force, the first country keeps a tax chip in the now empty territory until another unit moves in and takes it.

In your weird multi-tie, I would say the maneuvering country gets the territory if it is peaceful with all other units. In the case of a tie where the maneuvering country is destroyed, I would say the territory remains neutral.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teacher Fletcher
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's simple. At the end of any nation's turn, check to see if its units occupy any territories exclusively (no other units present). If so, and there's no tax chip down already, put a tax chip down there.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Brandt
United States
Manchester
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So......once a tax chip has been set down in a territory....from then on there will always be someone's chip in there? There will never be a case where a territory that had a chip would be empty of someones chip from then on? Swapping to different colors is the only option once the first chip is laid? And then only when a new color has exclusive rights?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Brandt
United States
Manchester
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wutai Leviathan wrote:
done111 wrote:
So......once a tax chip has been set down in a territory....from then on there will always be someone's chip in there? There will never be a case where a territory that had a chip would be empty of someones chip from then on? Swapping to different colors is the only option once the first chip is laid? And then only when a new color has exclusive rights?


Yes and No.

It's possible for a tax chip to be removed from the board without another tax chip taking it's place in a territory:

Rules - Page 9 wrote:

If a nation has put all 10 tax chips on the board, it cannot acquire any more tax regions. If a nation has occupied a region exclusively, tax chips of other regions are removed without being replaced. As soon as one of it's ten tax chips is available again, the nation may place it in this empty region.


In my experience (between 20 and 25 games) it's rare for one nation to have all 10 tax chips on the board.




Good catch, I forgot about that situation. I have only played once, but I remember that rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.