Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl Anderson
United States
New Boston
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mb
I've got a BSc in Graphic Information Technology from Arizona State University. I work as a Web programmer (PHP/SQL, that sort of thing) at present, at Michigan State University's National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, and have no plans to go anywhere anytime soon.

But...I long for a Master's degree. I don't know why; I just do. MSU gives some financial assistance, and I plan on taking advantage of it. The best part is that I can go anywhere I want, so long as the institution is accredited.

I've got my choice narrowed down to human-computer interaction; I had considered instructional technology, since I've worked in academia all my life, but I think HCI is a better choice. (I'm also interested in usability, you see.) The main issue is that the program has to be completely online--otherwise, I'd head down the road to the University of Michigan, with their HCI program.

Yesterday, I found two schools offering online programs in HCI: Rochester Institute of Technology and DePaul University. Here's what I know:

- Both are completely online, and both are 52 credits long.
- DePaul is a bit cheaper tuition-wise.
- RIT would require one weekend on-campus visit for a specific class, at some point during the program.
- RIT has, as part of the program, a "Learning and Human Performance" component, which is essentially instructional technology.

As it stands, I can't afford to take more than one or two classes per term; heck, RIT's classes are around $3500 a piece, and my MSU money would only cover two per year at that rate. (I've asked for more information about scholarships.) Thus, money is a concern.

I'm posting in hopes that people have some thoughts on these two schools--or, perhaps, other online HCI programs. Anyone go to DePaul or RIT who would like to comment? Anyone do these specific programs?

I welcome any feedback anyone might have!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide