Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Galactic Emperor» Forums » Rules

Subject: question regarding warlord role--taking over neutral worlds? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ralph T
United States
Signal Hill
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it possible to build an empire on a neutral world as the warlord?

Or are the only ways to place empires are through the regent, explorer, and destroying another empire through combat?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Camelorn
Germany
Koblenz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ralpher wrote:
Is it possible to build an empire on a neutral world as the warlord?

Or are the only ways to place empires are through the regent, explorer, and destroying another empire through combat?

Had the same question, and the rules are quite explicit on this on page 8:
When you move ships onto an unprotected sector tile with at least 1 planet, put one of your Empire tokens there to claim it. The ships may continue to move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph T
United States
Signal Hill
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. That makes warlord more powerful than I thought.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Camelorn
Germany
Koblenz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ralpher wrote:
Thanks. That makes warlord more powerful than I thought.

Yes, that swarm of fighters can be really powerful!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph T
United States
Signal Hill
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Follow up:
Warlord phase: What if a fleet starts its turn on a world that has no empire marker (because it was placed there during explorer phase)? Does it have to move away then move back in order to put an empire marker on it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Camelorn
Germany
Koblenz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a tricky one, let's look at the rules (page 6):
You can put sector tiles in empty spaces with ships – the ships are placed on top of the tile. However, the ship owning player cannot claim the sector tile yet with an Empire (see the Warlord Role on page 8).

Here i find:
If an unclaimed planet sector tile is under your ships, you may immediately claim the sector with one of your Empire tokens.

This again seems quite explicit to me:
When the Warlord starts, put those Empire tokens directly onto neutral sectors with ships on them. It does not really matter if or where or how they move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jf Roustan
France
St Paul des fonts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

I remember a thread with this question last year.
You should look in this forum, where the game designer gave a lot of answers and clarifications.

For this question I think (and we played like that) you place your Empire Token when your ship leave a neutral system (leaving it or moving through).
This means that you cannot take property of a system while placing a new tile under a ship in the Explorer phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Abe S.
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mb
Yes, if you start your Warlord phase on an unoccupied planet you immediately claim it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.