Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Axis & Allies Anniversary Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can China invade Thailand? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Damo
Australia
Hobart
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Look Up! Stay Alive!
badge
http://australianmuseum.net.au/Drop-Bear
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(Warning - Potentially silly question)

Hi All,

I've just played a game of A&A Aniversary Ed and come across a problem with China. The Rules say that "Chinese forces have a limited range of occupation, displayed by the coloured border"+Kiangsu and Manchuria.

My question is - Is Thailand within this border and so can be attacked by Chinese forces?

Maybe the board I have has faded colours or something, but none of us could tell for sure on the night which "coloured border" was being referred too.

We decided that Thailand couldn't be invaded by Chinese forces because it has a slightly browner colour :) Were we correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no, you can't.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damo
Australia
Hobart
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Look Up! Stay Alive!
badge
http://australianmuseum.net.au/Drop-Bear
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nathan Robertson wrote:
You can't because it's not on the map.


??

Southwest of Kwangtung?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damo
Australia
Hobart
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Look Up! Stay Alive!
badge
http://australianmuseum.net.au/Drop-Bear
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nathan Robertson wrote:
That would be French Indo China. Thailand is a very small part of this space and it came latter.


Thailand certainly existed during the second world war alongside Fr.IndoChina (they fought a war against FrIndChin in 1940/41 and won). That would explain why the game designer has named them together when geographically combining the area into one province on the game board.

You wrote "You can't because it's not on the map.", but "Thailand" is certainly written on the map and using it as a reference point succeeded in getting an answer to my question.

Perhaps I should refer to it by it's full name in future.

Either way, all is good.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel van der pol
Netherlands
Leiden
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The easiest way to remember this is that China is only allowed to attack territories which belonged to China prior to the invasion of Japan. These territories can easily be identified as those with a Chinese flag on them. All other territories are out of bounds.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.