Popular Tags: asljr_rsp [+] [View All]
Joshua Wright
United States
Clawson
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I was at Dragoncon '09 this year and saw two older gentleman playing a strange looking strategy game. I stopped and asked them what they were playing and their reply was "Advanced Squad Leader." I had heard about ASL through the grapevine from my very very limited wargame experience and seeing it in action made me drool almost immediately. Are there any active players in the Southeast Michigan area? I can get a few of my friends to play Axis and Allies and a few other board games but I'm guessing that NO ONE will touch a wargame as in depth sounding as this. I'm in Clawson and don't think that I'd enjoy playing online very much, at least at first. I much prefer talking to my opponent and laughing with each other when stuff gets crazy. Anyone around my area that might be willing to show a total newbie what this game is all about?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm nowhere near there, BUT you may look at doing it with VASL http://www.vasl.org/ and skype. Pretty close to being there, without the gamer breath.

Also, many new players get into the Starter Kits (SKs). Others can advise you on that, but it's a consideration. Full blown ASL is better, but beggars can't be choosers sometimes. ASL/SKs are put out by MMP. http://www.multimanpublishing.com/index1.php

Finally, there are some discussions about ASL on Gamesquad. http://forums.gamesquad.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30 Some of the posters are wacky, argumentative, etc, but LOADS of good info there.

Welcome to the borg. This is the best game ever!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Wright
United States
Clawson
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb