Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Successors (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Independent strongholds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
R Larsen
Denmark
Naerum (Copenhagen)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am confused about the Independent control markers and locals.

I understand that the hexagonal locals are Independent Strongholds, and that markers with hexagonals and strength 3 are placed there.
However, what about the square ones? Are these strongholds?

And when the Independent unis have been subjugated, are the hexagonal spaces then minor or major cities? (I suppose that the square ones are major).

Cheers,
Ras
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bigney
United States
Kingston
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During setup, the independent cities also get 3 markers, as I recall.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Shlepov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
badge
We played Star Fluxx, Star Munchkin, Dixit, and, of course, Bomb Alley.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
However, what about the square ones? Are these strongholds?


No. They're Independent Major Cities.

Quote:
And when the Independent unis have been subjugated, are the hexagonal spaces then minor or major cities?


See 9.12 Hostile Spaces:

Quote:
All Independent Strongholds (hexagonal spaces) which contain an Independent control marker are considered hostile spaces... If the space contains no Independent control marker treat the space as a normal minor city space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R Larsen
Denmark
Naerum (Copenhagen)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks once more for the very quick replies!

Andrei Shlepov wrote:
Quote:
However, what about the square ones? Are these strongholds?


No. They're Independent Major Cities.
[/q]

But then, I dont have to make a '2 column' attrition roll when I move over these spaces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cappocchi
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
Arkham Horror, Amun Re, R-ECO, Ora Et Labora, Napoleonic Wars
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:

But then, I dont have to make a '2 column' attrition roll when I move over these spaces?


Right. You don't do that for the cities (squares).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R Larsen
Denmark
Naerum (Copenhagen)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Shlepov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
badge
We played Star Fluxx, Star Munchkin, Dixit, and, of course, Bomb Alley.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You might want to check Updated FAQ and Errata for Successors (3rd Edition), dated 02-02-09, here on BGG (files section). It says specifically:

Quote:
9.12 Hostile Spaces: Independent Major Cities are NOT Strongholds and the rule for Hostile Spaces does not apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.