Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » Rules

Subject: Goblin Morale and General Morale Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guilherme Goulart
Brazil
Sao Paulo
SP
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Guys!
New addict to the world of BattleLore here!

I only own the Base game, Epic and Call to Arms, so I have no specialists Goblins or Dwarves. A few things came up recently:

1) Goblins are all by default Frightened. Can they become Bold? Or does it cancel out the Frightened and they become Normal?
Here I'm thinking of the situation where they receive support, or are affected by Terrain/Landmarks and/or Lore Cards.

2) Also, if they are in a position where they would receive two Bonus enhancements, like say, a supported Goblin unit in Ramparts, would it be Bold2? With an addition of a Lore Card, it could become Bold3?

3) I looked around the core book and couldn't find references on how to modify the Goblin's base morale. I assume that only Dwarves can be boosted for multiples levels of Bold, since the only time it is mentioned in the book, it's in the Dwarves section - so I've been playing that even Human units can only ever be Bold1 regardless of how many morale bonuses they benefit from. Is this correct?

Thanks!

edit: spelling
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wheal
United States
Kosse
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 - Yes , you can have BOLD, FRIGHTENED Goblins. Maybe it helps to think of it as 2 separate states ?

Frightened -- Normal.

Normal - Bold - Bold 2 - Bold 3 etc

When those Goblins, who may be Bold,break from Combat - they are going to run like frightened little goblins !

(The problem is that DoW used 'normal' in both) One refers to the combat state, the other to how they run when broken.



2 and 3 - Yep -Any race / unit can have multiple levels of Bold - it's just easier to get there with Dwarves. Supported Humans on Ramparts can go Bold 2 etc

Hope that helps !

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Earles
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also see the BattleLore Condensed FAQ 1.3.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guilherme Goulart
Brazil
Sao Paulo
SP
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both!
The answers provided and the FAQ are great.

I have to confess it's a little weird. So they are Bold AND Frightened... at the same time. So they ignore 1 flag, then run like the goblins they are. Interesting! I would not have come to this conclusion by only reading the book.

Once again, thanks!

thumbsup for both!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Galender wrote:
Thank you both!
The answers provided and the FAQ are great.

I have to confess it's a little weird. So they are Bold AND Frightened... at the same time. So they ignore 1 flag, then run like the goblins they are. Interesting! I would not have come to this conclusion by only reading the book.

Once again, thanks!

thumbsup for both!

You have to separate the stages that they are applicable. BOLD is a condition of battle and FRIGHTENED is a condition of retreat.

If you need to rationalize it, think of it like this: they are willing to stick around if they have the numbers (bold from support) but when the lines break, they run twice as fast (frightened retreat). So all bark and no bite.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guilherme Goulart
Brazil
Sao Paulo
SP
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, this clarifies the matter a bit.

So there are separate states: one for BATTLE and one for RETREAT.
To me it sounded like Bold and Frightened were opposites, with Normal sitting at the middle, but now it is clear.

Thanks Brian!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Galender wrote:
Ah, this clarifies the matter a bit.

So there are separate states: one for BATTLE and one for RETREAT.
To me it sounded like Bold and Frightened were opposites, with Normal sitting at the middle, but now it is clear.

Thanks Brian!

Yes, further complicated by the fact, like Mike pointed out, that there is a bold vs. normal and frightened vs. normal. And DOW did a disservice by combiningg the two stages of "normal" so it looked like it was one continuous scale.

But they are just game terms that mean simply "if you are supported, ignore one flag" but "if you have two or more flags, move two hexes per each additional flag."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Rewoldt
United States
Loveland
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not my intention to muddy things here, but I thought DoW did a good job of explaining the Morale concepts, aside from not being more explicit that the three designations of Morale aren't mutually exclusive. It isn't Frightened vs. Normal or Normal vs.Bold, rather there is interplay between Bold and Frightened.

If a unit is of Normal morale it may not ignore a flag and it may not battle back. This distinction isn't really necessary, as it simply means not frightened nor bold, but it is good to have a label for such units.

If a unit is of Frightened morale it retreats two hexes per flag taken and suffers a 1d panic check for each hex taken during a retreat.

If a unit is of Bold morale it may ignore 1 flag for every iteration of bold (support, landmark/terrain, lore play, unit quality) to which a unit is subject. Being bold is also one of the conditions that must be satisfied for a unit to be eligible to Battle Back.

An area that DoW should've been more explicit in (or perhaps didn't completely understand) is that any unit which is able to ignore a flag for any reason is considered bold. Ignoring a flag is synonomous with being bold (the number of flags a unit may ignore being equal to the "degree" which a unit is bold, e.g. a unit that may ignore 3 flags is "bold3").

The fluidity of morale in this game is one of its aspects I enjoy most. It makes for interesting decision making and surprising tactics.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.