Hilko Drude
Germany
Goettingen
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
What are you doing!? I don't even know you!
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this a session report or a review?
I was torn between the two. In the end I decided to go for the session review for the following reasons:
- I played only once
- I made a bunch of observations that might be specific for that first play of a game new to all players
- I have never written a session report before. :-)

This article will still contain some aspects of a review, while the session report parts will be in italics. Hope that works.
I got "Albion" fresh from the publisher – I guess it officially came out sometime earlier this week, as I got another Amigo package just a few days earlier, and apparently it hadn't been ready then. That was an exciting feeling, so I tried my best and got a group of four together for the next day (Friday). Here's how it played.
Punching and setting up the game takes a while, as there is a lot of material. The pieces and the board look good, so the first visual impression was rather positive. Reading and explaining the rules takes a while, but not as long as could have been expected (I had read the rules the day before). The bulk of the rules isn't tough to explain (and I had a good audience), but there are some finer points that don't stick until you actually play.

Players start settling in England on the Southeastern coast. They put a settler ashore, plus two production buildings, a castle and a fortification. Settlers can build different buildings, but each time they do that, they return to the coast and have to start their movements from there. Also, the further north the venture, the more hostile Picts wait for them.