Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Men of Iron» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 vs 3 attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppose that 2 of my units (A and B) are attacking three adjacent enemy units (X,Y,Z).

So we have:

A attacking X + Y (the central unit)
B attacking Y (the central unit again) + Z

Now what?

Do I get:

-1 strength (dis) advantage for attacking X
-1 strength (dis) advantage for attacking Z
and
-? for attacking Y....

is it -1 because I am attacking with two units vs three units (as a total) and I must apply this -1 differential modifier to each one of the three individuals battles?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Ward
United States
Laurel Springs
NJ
flag msg tools
Last Great Read
badge
Last Great Read
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I understand it, you would get a -1 on each attack.

However, it would make more sense to have:

A attack X
B attack Y and Z

That way only B gets the -1 (once against Y and once against Z). A would attack without any negative modidfiers.

This is in the rules as:


10.3 ...if a unit does attack, it must shock all enemy units in its frontal hexes. It does not have to do so against enemy units being shock by other, friendly units.


Mike
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanx Michael but Y is attacked by 2 units. Why they get a -1?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Ward
United States
Laurel Springs
NJ
flag msg tools
Last Great Read
badge
Last Great Read
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looking at the rules, I don't think you could attack as in your initial example:


With the exception of a continued attack, a defending unit can only be attacked once per shock phase.


So you couldn't attack Y twice using A and B in two seperate shock resolutions.

You would only be able to:

A attack X
B attack Y and Z

or

A attack X and Y
B attack Z

Y has to be either part of A's shock, or B's shock, but not both.

Hope this helps,
Mike
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
The above description is indeed correct. A single unit cannot be involved with other units in multiple shock attacks. It can however, shock attack multiple units. This is not explained well in the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.