Salma Hayek
msg tools
Hi Folks,

I think I might have spotted a translation error in that starting world that affects the gameplay of that card.

In English, it says (according to the pictures on this website) : may place a military world as a normal world at full cost (with any discounts)


In French, it says : "vous pouvez placer un monde militaire comme un monde normal sans réduction". Translation : may place a military world as a normal world without any discount.

Both cases exclude the yellow worlds of course.

So... in my mind it makes a huge difference. In the English version, you can combine it with replicant robots (for example), but in the French version, you could not.

Which one is the right one ?

Thanks for your answers.

Edit : I'm from Belgium and French is my mothertongue in case somebody asks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
frederic dumont
France
Lille
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!
I'm playing with the french version (being french, indeed), and have always considered that it was possible to add reduction to this power, via replicant robots, contact specialist and so on.
I do hope i wasn't wrong... Any though?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Robino
Italy
Dueville
Vicenza
flag msg tools
"I'm a Nay Saying worm beast!"
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
English card says "with any discounts" indeed. I'd say that French translation is wrong.

I wonder if the Italian version, only recently published, may contain similar errors...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can definitely combine with Replicant Robots, etc., but not with Contact Specialist. If the Rebel Cantina has changed the red number (on a military world) to black, the Contact Specialist's power no longer applies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
English is correct. The French translator may have been trying to say that the Rebel Cantina power doesn't come with a built-in discount (like the Contact Specialist does). However, Rebel Cantina certainly works with Replicant Robots.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Christenson
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
coolpapa wrote:
You can definitely combine with Replicant Robots, etc., but not with Contact Specialist. If the Rebel Cantina has changed the red number (on a military world) to black, the Contact Specialist's power no longer applies.


In the same vein, does Contact Specialist "play nice" with Rebel Alliance's power to play a rebel world as a regular world at -2 cost, or are the two powers mutually exclusive?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ADiplomat wrote:
In the same vein, does Contact Specialist "play nice" with Rebel Alliance's power to play a rebel world as a regular world at -2 cost, or are the two powers mutually exclusive?

I'm not sure what you mean exactly, but i can tell you that the 2 powers are separate, in that you can't combine them for a settle. You use one or the other for a given settle action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
frederic dumont
France
Lille
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clarifications concerning contact specialist & rebel cantina aso.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maël Brustlein
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I actually hadn't even noticed the translation semi-error. The symbols are clear enough anyway. I think most French gamers got it right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.