Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
As Gygax intended.
badge
“It is a trivial grammar-school text, but yet worthy a wise man’s consideration. Question was asked of Demosthenes, what was the chief part of an orator? he answered, action; what next? action; what next again? action.”
mbmbmb
Preamble:

I've seen it mentioned a few times that there needs to be more ASL discussion on BoardGameGeek. I agree. Let's start some discussion threads on ASL scenarios. Each one is a little puzzle unto itself and there may be many ideas about the best way to tackle them.

Let me point out that I am NOT a ASL expert, but I enjoy the game greatly. My thoughts should not be considered authoritative in any way, but I throw them out there as a jumping off point for debate.

Fighting Withdrawal

The Situation:

September 2, 1941 -- It is the Continuation War between Finland and the Soviet Union. The Finns are on the attack, aiming to reclaim territory lost during the Winter War of 1939. In the city of Terijoki, northwest of Leningrad, remnants of the Soviet 131st Border Battalion are forced into a fighting withdrawal against an onslaught of Finnish infantry.

To win the scenario, the Finns must exit more Exit VP off the board than the Russians.

What does this mean? The Russians have 32 VPs in their initial Order of Battle. The Finns have 35 VPs. If everyone just moves off the board without firing, the Finns will win. Therefore the Russians need to either slow down the Finns so they can't exit more than the Russians before the scenario ends, or the Russians need to inflict enough casualties on the Finns so they can't exit more than the Russians -- a fighting withdrawal.

Rules you need to review before playing:

B25.6 Spreading Fire -- There are two terrain blazes at scenario start, which will potentially spread throughout the course of the scenario.