Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: do mutiple Contact Specialist Stack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean Chong
Malaysia
Kota Kinabalu
Sabah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If i have 2 or 3 Contact specialist in my tableau,
do i get -2 or -3 when i settle a military world?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't build more than one copy of the same development.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Porter
United States
Winder
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't have multiple copies of a development in your tableau at the same time. However Contact Specialist+ replicant robots = good discount.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NO, in more ways than one. The rule forbidding duplicate cards on your tableau takes care of that, but theoretically, it wouldn't work anyways.


Using CS is kind of like setting an analogy that you get $1 off if you buy pizza at say, Roger's Pizza Place uptown. You could also get $1 off if you buy pizza at a Roger's Pizza Place downtown as well (same chain, different location). The act of going to one of those pizza places (and not some other chain) gives you the discount. You would NOT be able to stack those discounts in any logicial way, except to buy 2 pizzas to get $2 off. Even then, you're still getting $1 per pizza. That's the way multiple Contact Specials would work.


However, it's worth noting that That theory becomes practice
when you get to the Rebel vs Imperium expansion. Rebel Alliance, Contact Specialist, and Rebel Cantina do very similar things with their settle powers. They're all "pay for military world powers" (small exception for Rebel Alliance which is a "pay for REBEL military world power") and do NOT stack at all in the way you're asking.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ahchong wrote:
If i have 2 or 3 Contact specialist in my tableau,
do i get -2 or -3 when i settle a military world?

Yes. In fact, if you have 2 or 3 Contact specialist in your tableau, you get to settle 2 or 3 worlds per settle phase.

Yes I know Contact Specialist doesn't work like that. However, the statement A=>B is always true when A is false. Substitute A = "I have 2 or 3 CS in my tableau" and B = (any ridiculous assertion)
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NtNScissors wrote:
Yes I know Contact Specialist doesn't work like that. However, the statement A=>B is always true when A is false. Substitute A = "I have 2 or 3 CS in my tableau" and B = (any ridiculous assertion)


Can the "ridiculous assertion" be "People who post questions don't need to be ridiculed"?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
NtNScissors wrote:
Yes I know Contact Specialist doesn't work like that. However, the statement A=>B is always true when A is false. Substitute A = "I have 2 or 3 CS in my tableau" and B = (any ridiculous assertion)


Can the "ridiculous assertion" be "People who post questions don't need to be ridiculed"?


I was just pointing out that the answer given in the post above mine ("NO") was logically incorrect.

If my choice of words has offended you, the OP, or any other reader, then I apologise. The "ridiculous assertion" is meant to refer to my own premise that I can multi-settle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.