Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does a successful attacker HAVE to invade? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Sullivan
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I successfully obliterate a defender or cause them to retreat, do I HAVE to move into the newly-freed region?

For instance, if Gondor has a dude in both North and South Ithien and I attack one of them using a 10-strong army in Minas Morgul with 5 nazzies, do I have to move any of my guys out of Minas Morgul?

Thanks in advance
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it's not compulsory.

From the rules, p. 14,
Quote:
If the defending Army is eliminated or retreats, the attacker may immediately move all or part of the units participating in the attack into the embattled Region.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
However, if the Region involved contains a Settlement, you must move at least one unit in if you want to capture it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Sullivan
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah, I knew that part. Ok, cool thanks for the quick replies, guys
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magic gecko
Australia
Melbin Oz
flag msg tools
It is a bit more than that.

Sometimes the attacker goes whack! for one round, and does not press.
This means the defender does not get to retreat.

Then you get to go Whack! again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Tait
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
magic gecko wrote:
It is a bit more than that.

Sometimes the attacker goes whack! for one round, and does not press.
This means the defender does not get to retreat.

Then you get to go Whack! again. :)


In other words, if you are willing to use several action dice (kind of like a siege), you can ensure that you wipe the defender out rather than forcing them to retreat? Interesting. The main drawback to that would be that if your opponent was defending a city or fortification, you'd have to hit on 6 each time.

Edwin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.