Bruno Gaia
France
Asnières
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Being a Geek is a sure sign of a sound mind, cause it means you think that life as it is is dull and should be more interesting. Which it is.
mbmbmbmbmb
(PS: excuse the English since it's not my first language, me being French and all...)
When I bought the first Dungeon Twister installments a few years ago, I had an immediate feeling that THIS WAS the game I had always been waiting for.
Very little randomness, fast-paced, aggressive: my tastes in a nutshell!
Then I started playing with my friends and THEY gave me doubts. Big ones too, since they quickly declared that they wouldn't play it anymore, saying it was too "chess-like" for them.
But I went on playing though, finding new "victims" for the dungeon.
And then I bought the extensions and that's when I started to grow doubts about this game. The draft version meant it was not so sublte anymore and always more random, and the huge amount of rules to be learnt (and learnt well since the slightest mistake in DT means you've lost the game...) made it somewhat too complicated for my taste.
So I stopped plating DT...
In the meantime I met my new girlfriend (that will have its importance in this review) who is a pretty good gaming partner and goes for anything from Dominion to RFTG with preferences for Neuroshima, Battlelore, Pandemic and Stone Age!
So when the new DT came out, and me having this hardcore-palying woman as a loving partner, I thought: "Why not give it a second try?"
So we bought it and... Ta taaamm!!!
One or two games a day for three weeks and we feel like we're still faaaaarrr from being bored of it.