Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Warhammer: Invasion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Development Cost rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does it cost anything to play a card as a development? Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Adamson
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Using the normal way of playing one card as a development during your capital phase, no. It is free. It does take one of the cards from your hand, and it counts as an action (so your opponent may play an action afterward if he has one to play.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Johnson
Canada
Quesnel
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And you are limited to play at most 'one' development per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys. Intuitively I thought it was "free". I just wanted to make sure
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Judd
United States
Dona Ana
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sorry,I disagree. The rules state that during Capital Phase to play a card from your hand you must pay the cost in resources. I see no exception for the Development card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry you disagree, but you are wrong. Developments are free. Since you are playing them face down, how would one know what to pay for them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Stone
United States
Dallas
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Face down developments cost 0. The rules do not state this clearly enough, so you may want to send an email to Nate French the developer over at FFG who is also compiling the FAQ. You must pay the cost of a unit, support, or tactic you play from your hand with the value marked on its face in addition to any loyalty cost that may have to be paid. In addition to this you may also play a card face down as a development. The rules break these up into two different sections because you are not supposed to pay anything for them, you simply play a single card face down.

This is how the game was demo'ed at Gencon by FFG employees, including Nate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.