Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Don Brandt
United States
Manchester
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to Imperial but love it! It seems Great Britian always just seem to sit there without much going on...many ships of course but nothing real special happening. My question is if you had Great Britian what would be your stategy if you wanted it to prosper. I understand one can expand and hold a tax base but it seem so many other nations have ships in the water that it just seems to control the waters adjacent to GB.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Priest
United States
Inverness
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty new too, but the tack I have taken includes:

-control and protect your local sea areas with your navy
-grab and hold Norway if you can
-build factories like crazy and try to keep getting around the rondel to taxation as fast as you can
-try to control Germany (which nobody seems to like anyway) to protect your flank on that side

Take this with a grain of salt. I usually lose control of Britain as I increase it's value and I just in general tend to lose a lot when playing Imperial.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel J
United States
Iowa City
IA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
England starts with and can make more naval factories than anyone else. Controlling the adjacent sea zones should be a piece of cake unless other players are actively trying to keep England down. If Russia or Germany don't make a second naval factory in the north, you can easily control all the northern waters and then have Norway and Sweden to yourself.

I don't think there's any special magic to it. Buy factories and make lots of units if you want a country to have the potential to do well. Much more important is who else wants it to do well, and who actively doesn't want it to do well.

I find England to be one of the stronger countries myself.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thies Kolln
United States