Popular Tags: [View All]
Marius Roth
Germany
Wistedt
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In Essen, Pegasus Spiele sold the german version of the expansion, that was released just days ago. As a game instructor for Pegasus, I had the joy to show the new expansion (or the basic game) to interested visitors.

One of the sessions was really memorable, and here is what happened:

The game was played by 5 players, 2 veterans of the basic game, and 3 complete newbies. They agreed on adding both the Virulent Strain and the Mutation cards to the basic game to make things more interesting.

The Red and Yellow cure were discovered pretty quickly, while black became the Virulent Srain and devastated the Middle East. Around the middle of the game, the purple cure was discovered (although I *might* have made a mistake cause you need at least one city card where a purple cube is present, which I had overread at this time), and even a the black cure was discovered despite the sticks that the game threw into the players legs (the black cure needed an additional city card to be discovered for a total of six city cards, a uninfected black city got 2 cubes instead 1, having to infect an additional city when a black city was infected and so on).

So the player draw pile was quickly shrinking and one of the veteran players started to behave like a cry-baby, as in "Oh look, just 8 more cards, we can't win this game. There is simply no way". The new players became a bit nervous and I tried to calm everyones minds.

Player "cry-baby" was the Researcher to this tima and held no hand cards
The next player was a scientist with only 1 blue card and way of the real action
The third player was the Troubleshooter, had 3 blue cards and the same city card the Researcher currently stood in