Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Family growth without room question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Somewhere in the forum someone said that when you take the "family growth without room" action that you need a room for that kid by the end of the stage or round. Is that true?

IF SO: Then where in the manual does it talk about that?


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryann Turner
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is simply false.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
You can't handle the truth?
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
btizo wrote:
That is simply false.


This is simply corret
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, not sure where you got that. Not true. Now it *is* true that if you take that action and you have an extra room (or later build an extra room), you must move that new family member into that new room - you can't leave them doubled up and use the other Family Growth action to use your "extra" room - maybe someone was trying to state that and it somehow got confused in translation?
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
crambaza wrote:
btizo wrote:
That is simply false.


This is simply corret


This is simply SPELLING FAIL.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cferejohn wrote:
Yeah, not sure where you got that. Not true. Now it *is* true that if you take that action and you have an extra room (or later build an extra room), you must move that new family member into that new room - you can't leave them doubled up and use the other Family Growth action to use your "extra" room - maybe someone was trying to state that and it somehow got confused in translation?



Ah. Yes. That must be it. You rock. I'm glad. We played it the correct way because we didn't see anything in the harvest area or growth area of the manual about it (which is where I would have expected it).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(Normal) Family Growth has a requirement to place worker on the space. The requirement is: Number of Rooms is greater than the current number of workers.

Family Growth (without room) has no requirement to place a worker on the space.

Requirements are checked only at the moment the space is being taken and at no other time.

IKEA sells bunk beds for just this reason.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Mura
Italy
Pisa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry.. Just to understand well the rule:

Normally, when you take the action "Family Growth" you must have an extra room to place the kid at the end of the round. If you don't have an extra space, you simply cannot take that action. Is this right?

With the "special" action "Family Growth without space" you can take the action even if you don't have an extra room.
The question is: before the end of the round you must build an extra room to place the kid, right? But what happens if you are not able to build that extra room?

Thanks a lot
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Favar wrote:
Sorry.. Just to understand well the rule:

Normally, when you take the action "Family Growth" you must have an extra room to place the kid at the end of the round. If you don't have an extra space, you simply cannot take that action. Is this right?

With the "special" action "Family Growth without space" you can take the action even if you don't have an extra room.
The question is: before the end of the round you must build an extra room to place the kid, right? But what happens if you are not able to build that extra room?

Thanks a lot


Family growth without room: You do not have to build a room. If you somehow managed to use family growth without room three times, you could have five people in your 2 rooms starting house.

Family growth with room: However, you can use family growth WITH room only if you have more rooms than family members in the moment you want to take the action. You do not build it until the end of the round, you must already have it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Mura
Italy
Pisa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Andreas! Now that's very clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.