I thought I understood Mesmerize until I read the FAQ. Here's what the rulebook and the back of the outfit cards state:
You control that character's action this round
Outfit Card wrote:
...control target pawn for 1 turn (using their action)
Nowhere does it explicitly state that you get to pick the character's action, so my assumption has always been that you control the action they already chose for themselves.
However, a member of my group just pointed out this ruling from the official FAQ:
You basically are deciding which action they do, if any at all. They will reap the benefits or penalties of the action.
The way this reads, the mesmerizer chooses any action for the mesmerizee to perform. I am fine with this, but do they choose literally any action (even one that has been assigned to another dude), or do they only choose from actions that have not already been assigned that turn? How have you been playing?
Does anyone have their own house rules for Mesmerize?