I have waffled back and forth on this rule for years. Here is the deal. Let's say a column only contains 1 foot artillery for the French and 1 foot artillery for the Allied. Can these guns fire on each other? The rule states: "7. If artillery units are entirely by themselves in a column with no infintry or cavalry support, they are engaged by enemy infintry or cavalry at double CV. The artillery units can not fire."
So the question is, are the guns not allowed to fire because they have no infintry or cavalry suppurt or because they are engaged by enemy infintry or cavalry?
I currently play that if only guns are left in a column, they are allowed to fire but I would love to hear how others interperate this rule.
They only lose the ability to fire if engaged. Two artillery units can pop away at each other all day across the middle ground. This is consistent with how it behaves in all the other similar Columbia games.