Here are the rules for defense for those who want to add a bit of fun to being the blocker.
Remember that this may slow down the game so effort must be made to make decisions as quickly as possible and players may want to put a time limit on the Defender on each roll, say 5 to 10 seconds.
First, let's start with the God Dice roll. When playing defense rules, when the Attacker gains favor of the Gods, the Defender is NOT allowed to use his defense skill (play is exactly like regular God Dice).
When the Defender gains favor with the God Dice he may use his defense skill at NO COST . He also still may force the Attacker to keep or reroll the opening roll as per regular God Dice rules.
Double God Dice rolls function the same as in regular God Dice (God Kill or Divine Intervention).
All other rolls allow the Defender to use his defense skill at a cost of 1 life remaining square (5 life).
Here is how it works: During the Attackers turn the Defender may manipulate the dice by being allowed to change ONLY the type of dice in the Defenders basic attack.
FOR EXAMPLE: Let's say a Cleric is Attacking and a Monk is Defending. After the opening roll is established, the Defending Monk is allowed to change up to 2 dice and 1 die during the course of the Attackers turn.
Here is the example Dice roll we are working with: The Cleric's opening roll is 0 5 5.
As it stands the cleric qualifies for a basic attack. The Monk however decides to pay the defend cost of 5 life and makes the Attacker change both his dice to 0 0. NOTE: When changing more than 1 die the Defender must change all of them to only one type, in other words if is forced to change he must make them both 5 5 or etc. and can not make 1 and the other a 5. Also, the Monk can only change the dice into a type that has yet to be rolled this turn.
The Monk can no longer change any dice that may come up on future rolls since he has used both his 2 basic dice.
The Cleric now has this:0 0 0 5 5. The Attacker choses to roll his 0 0 0. They all come up .
Now the Attacker qualifies for a Healing Blow! His roll now looks like this: 5 5. The Monk however has not used his 1 die change yet so he decides to change 1 die into a . The Monk could have made the die any type he wanted to EXCEPT a 0 because that has already been rolled this turn. The Cleric's roll now looks like this: 5 5. The Monk is now out of changes he may make for the rest of the Cleric's turn. The Cleric contiues his turn now uninterrupted because the Monk is out of changes.
For the record, it is legal to change 2 colors in 1 roll. EXAMPLE: In the example above, the Monk could have chosen to make the Cleric reroll 1 and 1 die and save his second die change for later in the turn. The Monk would be required though to make the dice change into the same dice type such as or 5 5, etc.
IMPORTANT RULE: Characters may NOT use defense skill against their own class. EXAMPLE: An Assassin may NOT change any dice of another Assassin, etc.
A Defender only pays the life cost when he decides to change dice and only pays the cost once per turn. If he chooses not to change dice, no cost is paid.
The Defender ALWAYS has first right at changing dice after EVERY roll until he is out of possible changes. So after a roll is made, the Attacker must be given clearance by the Defender before picking up any dice. NOTE: Once given clearance though, the Attacker may just decide to except the dice and deal out the damage. The Defender is unable to change dice at this point even if he has dice changes still available.
REMEMBER, the Defender may not change dice once the Attacker has exhausted his last roll as there is nothing legal to change dice into.
So that's the basics...
Let me know how this plays for you and let me know how I can clarify this further. I'm sure I will be editing this post a few times...
- Last edited Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:00 pm (Total Number of Edits: 13)
- Posted Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:16 pm
The Cleric's opening roll is 0 5 5
As it stands the cleric qualifies for a basic attack. The Monk however decides to pay the defend cost of 5 life and makes the Attacker change both his
dice to 0 0
Also, the Monk can only change the
dice into a type that has yet to be rolled this turn.
Wasn't 0 rolled in the opening roll? So if the Monk can only change the blue dice into a type that has yet to be rolled this turn, how can he turn them into 0's?