GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,406 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Small World; reinforcing territory where decline race occupies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tracy Hoyt
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Can I use my new race to reinforce a territory occupied by my in decline race?
BTW, just bought this game yesterday and LOVE IT!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Buchsdrucker
Canada
Calgary
AB
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer. Nope.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Byrns wrote:
Short answer. Nope.


Slightly longer answer: it's important to remember that your active race and your declined race are treated as two completely separate races. They both just happen to earn you victory points.

For example, your active race can attack your declined race if it wants to take over some prime real estate, and it does so just as though they were attacking any other race.

Small World's rules seem to spawn a lot of questions about things that people think they should be able to do (for example, "Can my dragon fly?"), but with few exceptions the materials provided actually answer all of those questions. If it's not in the rulebook (or on the player aid), you can't do it.

That said, read the FAQ sometime anyway
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Bevilacqua
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Medium answer. No two races can ever stay in the same territory at the same time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alternative answer: You can reinforce the territories surrounding the territories in decline. That way you stay within the rules, but yet create a type of moat around them with your other forces.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GamerMike wrote:
Medium answer. No two races can ever stay in the same territory at the same time.


In Vinci, two civilizations of the same color (the active and the declining) cannot even be adjacent to each other unless the active civilization has the Heritage characteristic.

Is that also the case in Small World?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Van Zandt
United States
South Ogden
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
badge
PlayTMG.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no, there is no adjacency rule in SW
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Ottawa
Ontario
msg tools
Avatar
Rude answer: Go to hell!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Schaeffer
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Incomprehensible answer: Fourteen, with extra fish and a rainbow to the multiple ends of cyclops.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ultimate answer: 42
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew DiGregorio
United States
West Babylon
New York
flag msg tools
badge
I'm a scary clown!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nonsensical answer:


#OIJ#$#IHIH#G@# #@H@#( #@ !!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave G
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
El Chupacabratwurst
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Non-answer: What do you think the answer is?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Ho
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Answer:

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Roop
United States
Three Rivers
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Binary Answer: 10110110 01001011 11001001

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emivaldo Sousa
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wrong answer: off course. I do it all the time!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.