Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Britannia» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Scots Strategy - the Dead Men of Dunedin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United Kingdom
LONDON
flag msg tools
mbmb
It's simple: against a fortified west coast (combination of Picts, Brigantes and Caledonians) Feargal Sharkey sails round and lands in relatively undefended lowland Dunedin.

"But that's three areas" - he's a leader and armies with him can move three.

"But the Scots can't land there" - says who? Card forbids only Moray and Mar. It doesn't add, for instance "...and all areas south"

Full disclosure: as a Pict player last night I thought I had it all sewn up and then this happens; the Scots player was pretty pleased with himself.

Or have I missed something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex

Québec
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 10 of the rules from FFG edition:

Quote:
Armies beginning their Movement Phase in a sea area may never move two sea areas before landing in a land area.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Whyman
United States
Danvers
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
from Game Crafter
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The limitations on where a nation can sail to are intended to reflect not just distances, but the quality of their boats and seamanship. In other words, it doesn't matter how much time you give them, the Scots are never going to sail from their homeland (Irelend) to Dunedin, they are limited to Caithness as their maximum range.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United Kingdom
LONDON
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thx for that. Landing at Dunedin did offend me somewhat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hubert Roy
msg tools
When Scotland is stacked with enemies, a good strategy is to wait for your Major invasion to attack and seriously cripple the Pict. Land on Mar with 4 troops and your leader then move on to Moray on your second move and try leaving 1-2 guys in Mar.

This will leave the Pict in very bad condition. Both the Caledonian and the Brigantes won't probably intervene because they'll be more than happy to see you and the Pict fight while they slowly stack.

If you succeed in destroying the Pict later on, you are in a very good position to occupy the Skye/Dalriada/Dunedin Crescent.

I've seen it a few times and it has proven to be very effective when dropping on the west side of the coast is too dangerous.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hubert Roy
msg tools
Oops.

Seems we have been cheating for a few games.. Scots can't land there..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Keane
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
We're debating whether it's better if the Scots avoid staying on land at all, raiding easy prey and smashing on round 7 with Fergus/double attack but even then still withdraw, giving up any round 7 points but avoiding any losses to Angles/Ida double attack. Only then in round 8 make permanent landfall in the northern lowlands, focusing on maximizing population growth before moving into the highlands for round 10 scoring.

We also debate whether the Romano-Brits should continue to try their standard blaze of glory killing as many Jutes and Saxons (with Aelle) as they can in the south before being snuffed (maximum points that way is usually around 20), or should they race north to hurt the Brigantes and Angles (likely resulting in less points themselves, but weakening southern threats to the Scots).

If the Romans sneak around the Welsh and build forts in Gwent, Powys, and Clwyd before forcing Welsh submission, another option is for the Romano-British to try to last the game in the Welsh hills (only the Welsh and Norsemen would have any interest in attacking you there), and try to temporarily secure English areas each scoring round. However, since they go first each scoring round, it's still very difficult to get much points.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.